Pineapple Fried Rice

I love pineapple.  It’s sweet, juicy, and acidic.  When I buy a pineapple, it’s usually intended for a a variation on Hawaiian pizza.  Then I am left eating the rest of the pineapple for a few days afterward.  Pineapple by itself is delicious, but I wanted a way to jazz it up, give it a feature role in a dish, make it a star! (Read this with a Hollywood agent voice)

I searched through my fridge and found some rice, and brilliance hit me: fried rice! Fried rice is a perfect way to use up leftovers.  This was a great side dish and could easily be made a main dish if you tossed in some shrimp (or dare I say Spam).  Pineapple, welcome to the limelight.

PINEAPPLE FRIED RICE
From Cinnamon Freud
INGREDIENTS
1 1/2 teaspoons sesame oil
3 cups cold rice
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon hoisin sauce
1/2 pineapple, chopped
2 scallions, chopped
DIRECTIONS
In a large skillet over medium heat, heat sesame oil.  Add cold rice and toss.  Cook for 5-7 minutes, until rice begins to brown.  Stir in soy sauce and hoisin sauce.  Stir in pineapple.  Cook for 3-4 additional minutes.  Remove from heat and top with scallions.

Leave a Reply

