Cinnamon Butter Gnocchi


Watching the Food Network is a form of torture sometimes.  Watching while hungry makes me jealous of all those well stocked kitchen and all those delicious dishes.  I have learned never to watch it before a time when I can’t eat, such I have to go to class and can’t eat for several hours.  Otherwise, I spend the class daydreaming of Ina’s tarts and Rachel Ray’s voice saying EVOO.

That aside, I love the Food Network.  Watching it exposes me to types of food I have never heard of before.  Gnocchi was something foreign to me, and after hearing about it in a few recipes, I decided I had to know what this potato like pasta tasted like.  I considered making it from scratch myself, but I didn’t have the time to make something so time intensive when I wasn’t sure if I would like it.  Plus our World Market was selling them for extremely low prices- so why not try it. 

So I had my gnocchi from the store, and I immediately began searching for the perfect first recipe to try it out on.  I came across this recipe from Giada and was hooked.  Cinnamon sugar on pasta? Was it dessert, was it dinner?  I don’t know, but I love anything sweet.  I especially love cinnamon, sugar, and butter together.  I loved the sauce, and I love the texture of the gnocchi!  Soft, tender, and light. It was a nice change from normal pasta.  Definitely going to have again (and soon since I still have leftovers).

And since this was like eating dessert for dinner, I ate it with some broccoli.  That counts, right?

CINNAMON BUTTER GNOCCHI
Slightly Adapted from Giada’s Everyday Italian

INGREDIENTS

2 cups uncooked gnocchi
4 tablespoons butter
1 tablespoon granulated sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon

DIRECTIONS

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Cook gnocchi for 2-3 minutes or until they float.  Drain and set aside.

In a small skillet, melt butter.  Let cook for 5-10 minutes until  butter turns a light tan color.  Stir in sugar and cinnamon.  Add gnocchi and cook until warmed through.
Serves 4 as a side.

Leave a Reply

