Asparagus Mimosa

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

With the end of this past semester and May mini-summer break  I have learned that I no longer know how to do nothing.   I now get bored terribly easily- I think graduate school has made me live my life on the go too much. Gone are the days when I used to love to just literally sit around all day in my PJs and sleep past noon every day. Gone are the days when I was ignorant to the existence of two nine o’clocks in the day.  Now I know the 9 AM far too well.

I suppose I could get ahead on some work for the upcoming semesters, but let’s not resort to anything that drastic or crazy.

So while I am taking a little vacay back at home in Houston, I have been asking/forcing my family to get out and do stuff with me.  This has involved a little shopping, watching the new Stark Trek movie (and subsequently yelling “KHANNNNN!” any time I get the slightest bit frustrated for dramatic effect), and lots and lots of cooking.

Since most people will have having a mini vacation  with the upcoming three day weekend for Memorial Day and will be celebrating with some food, here is a a light side dish to go with your table full of red meat BBQ fixings.  Now I am not particularly fond of pasta salad, coleslaw, or potato salad, so I always am left with few side dishes to choose from at BBQs.  This grilled asparagus, onions mustard vinaigrette, and  hard boiled eggs is a surprisingly delicious combo that I love.

This is a great light option for any BBQ you will have this summer.  And I am in need of some lighter food options.  Too much free time leads me to cook and bake more, which leads to packing on some “winter warmth” as I lovingly call it.

But here is the problem: it’s no longer winter.  Summer brings bathing suits.

KHANNNNNNN!

ASPARAGUS MIMOSA
Adapted from Gourmet

INGREDIENTS

1 pound asparagus
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper
1 tablespoon butter
1 small onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, sliced
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
2-3 tablespoons apple cider vinegar
3 hard boiled eggs, peeled and chopped

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 425°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Layer asparagus on top in single layer. Drizzle olive oil on top. Season with salt and pepper. Roast until tender, 8-14 minutes. Keep warm.

Grill alternative:  Heat grill to high or medium-high heat.  Toss asparagus with olive oil until lightly coated.  Season with salt and pepper.  Grill until tender and charred, about 4-5 minutes per side.  Keep Warm.

In a skillet melt butter. Add onion. Season with salt and pepper. Cook until tender, 4-7 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, 1-2 minutes. Remove from heat. Whisk mustard and vinegar together. Add onion mixture to mustard and vinegar.

Transfer asparagus to plates or serving platter. Divide hard boiled eggs on top. Season with salt and pepper. Pour mustard onion mixture on top.

Serves 4-6 as a side dish.

2 thoughts on “Asparagus Mimosa

  1. eliotthecat says:

    What sucks is that I could sleep a bit later now that school is out because our summer hours start at 9:00 but I still wake up at 6:00!!!!!

    I have to say I was expecting an asparagus cocktail! 🙂

    Enjoy the holiday!

Leave a Reply

