Twix Bars: Secret Recipe Club

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have been having a bit of a sweet tooth problem lately- as in I want sugar, only sugar, and right now.

This is my dream: a truck of sugar reversing into my apartment complex and dumping its sugar contents directly on top of me until I am completely submerged.  Is it normal to have a fantasy of being suffocated to death by tons of sugar?  Someone interpret that dream.

Given my hyper-intense need for sugar, I was excited when I was assigned That Skinny Chick Can Bake for this month’s Secret Recipe Club.  So many desserts, so little time.  If you ever have a sweet craving, you should definitely check out her site.

After looking through lots of delicious looking recipes, I came to a simple conclusion: sometimes all we need in life is a candy bar.  For me, that candy bar would be a Twix.  Or Take Five or Snickers or Reeses Peanut Butter Cup or any form of sugar in bar form- but today that candy bar I need is  a Twix since I can’t make all those candy bars in one day (or shouldn’t).  A Twix is a classic combo of a shortbread crust, caramel, and chocolate.  So simple and perfect no alterations were needed.

The bars came out wonderful- soft caramel, crumbly crust, and soft chocolate.  Take a moment (obligatory).

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

TWIX BARS
From That Skinny Chick Can Bake

INGREDIENTS

For the Shortbread Crust:
1 stick butter, cold and cut in 1 inch cubes
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cups all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon salt

For the Caramel
12 ounces Caramel bites
2 tablespoons whole milk
Pinch of salt

For the Chocolate Layer:
9 ounces milk chocolate
1 tablespoon shortening

DIRECTIONS

For the Shortbread Crust:

Preheat oven to 350 Line a 9 inch by 9 inch pan with foil. Grease and set aside.

Place sugar and butter in a food processor. Pulse until mixture becomes crumbly. Add vanilla, flour, and salt. Pulse until just incorporated. Press into prepared pan. Price the crust with a fork. Bake for 15-20 minutes, until crust is light golden brown color. Cool completely.

For the Caramel Layer:

Combine caramel, cream, and salt in small saucepan over low heat. Cook, stirring occasionally, until melted. Spread over cooled crust with a greased rubber spatula. Chill for at least 15-30 minutes until caramel layer has firmed up.

For the Chocolate Layer:

In a double broiler combine chocolate and butter. Melt chocolate, stirring occasionally. Spread over caramel layer. Chill for 10-20 minutes at until chocolate layer has set. Cut into bars.



25 thoughts on “Twix Bars: Secret Recipe Club

  1. Melissa says:

    Now this is what I need today! These bars look delicious, and I’m really hoping I have all the ingredients in the house to make them as soon as possible!

  2. Taryn says:

    Growing up, Twix bars were my absolutely favorite candy indulgence. I haven’t had one in AGES, but these are totally inspiring me to give them a go myself. Yum yum yum yum YUM! Thanks for sharing 🙂

  3. India Leigh says:

    Love your blog. So funny. I’ve promised myself a vegan, gluten free version of these will be on my table (in my mouth) by the end of May, within no less than 10 sleeps!! oh yeah.

  4. Verna says:

    Hello, i think that i saw you visited my blog so i came to “return the
    favor”.I am trying to find things to enhance my site!

    I suppose its ok to use a few of your ideas!!

Leave a Reply

