Bay Scallops Gratin

I have said it before, and I will say it again: Ina Garten is a culinary genius.

I made this dish for the first time with friends, and I had never even heard of a scallop before.  In fact, I confused a scallop with scallion, thinking it was a green onion-centric dish.  I was a lost cooking soul back then.  (And it took me several weeks after that to be able to remember scallop, scallion, and green onion differences).

But this dish was DELICIOUS.  This is my mom’s favorite dish.  It’s butter filled, lemony, crunchy yet tender- basically it’s Ina at her best.

BAY SCALLOPS GRATIN
Adapted from Ina Garten
INGREDIENTS

3 tablespoons butter, softened
4 garlic cloves, minced
1-2 shallots, minced
4-5 slices cooked bacon, crumbled
1 tablespoon parsley flakes
1 tablespoon lemon juice
1 teaspoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 tablespoons olive oil
6 tablespoons panko
3 tablespoons white wine
1 pound bay scallops

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 425°F.
In a medium bowl, combine butter, garlic, shallot, bacon, parsley, lemon juice, salt, and pepper. (Using a fork or whisk is easier than a spoon).  While whisking, slowly add olive oil.  Fold in panko.  Set aside.
Wash and dry scallops.  Add the wine to the bottom of a 9×9 baking pan.  Arrange scallops on top.  Spread the butter mixture evenly over scallops.  Bake 10-12 minutes, until golden brown.  Serve immediately.
Serves 3-4.

5 thoughts on “Bay Scallops Gratin

  1. Amanda says:

    Amazing. I also added shelled mussels. Served with angel hair pasta and a side of stifried peppers and broccoli. Thank you!

  2. Deb S says:

    No offense to Ina, but this was a dud! Made exactly according to recipe. Too much butter and I’m not sure about the purpose of the panko!

Leave a comment