Cinnamon Sugar Pull Apart Bread: Improv Blog

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Oh, cinnamon.

You are a wonderful spice.
You are quite nice (tasting).
Spicy and warm
This bread is delcious, please don’t swarm

I know, I know.  I obviously missed my calling as a poet.

When I was younger, one of my favorite breakfasts was a simple one: warm toast brushed with butter and topped with cinnamon sugar.  The cinnamon sugar would melt into the butter a form a wonderful sticky spread.  This was a special breakfast when mom would offer on those occasional elementary school day mornings when I used to actually eat breakfast.

This month’s Improv Challenge features that  classic combo of cinnamon and sugar.  While I believe Mom’s buttered cinnamon sugar toast would be a wonderful recipe to share, I wanted to take my favorite breakfast and make it from scratch.  I have been wanting to make this Cinnamon Pull Apart Bread for a long time, and there was no better time than the present.

This bread is soft and pillow-y and full of cinnamon sugar goodness.  It does take some planning as you have to let it rise twice, but it is so worth it. I have recently been having serious difficulties with yeast, but this bread seems to have broken my bread curse.

This bread is best eaten with your fingers straight from the pan- just like a true lady would.  And a true lady should also lick her fingers clean to get every last bite of cinnamon sugar.  All of course while holding up her pinky for sophistication. Verily.

CINNAMON SUGAR PULL APART BREAD
Barely Adapted from Joy the Baker

INGREDIENTS

For the Dough:
3 cups all purpose flour, divided
1/4 cup granulated sugar
1 envelope active dry yeast
5 tablespoons warm water, divided
1/2 teaspoon salt
2 ounces butter
1/3 cup milk
2 eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

For the Filling:
1 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup light brown sugar
1 tablespoon cinnamon
Pinch of salt
2-3 ounces butter, melted

DIRECTIONS

In a large bowl combine 2 cups of flour, sugar, and salt. Set aside

In a saucepan combine milk and butter over medium heat.  Stir together over heat until butter is melted.  Let cool until mixture reaches 115-125°F. Stir in vanilla extract and 2 tablespoons water.

Combine 3 tablespoons warm water and yeast with a pinch of sugar.  Let sit until foamy, about 10 minutes.  Stir into wet ingredients.  Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients and mix until just combined.  Add in eggs one at a time and mix until incorporated.  Stir in 3/4 cup of flour and stir for 2 minutes.

In a small bowl mix together the sugar, light brown sugar, cinnamon, and salt for the filling.  Melt the 2 ounces of butter for the filling in a saucepan over medium heat until it turns a brown, 5-10 minutes.  Grease a 9 inch by 5 inch loaf pan.  Set aside.

Place dough in a large greased bowl.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled in size, about 1 hour.  Punch down the dough and knead in 2 tablespoons of flour.  Cover and let rest for 5 minutes.  Place on a lightly floured surface and roll dough out to a 12 inch by 20 inch long rectangle.  Brush with melted brown butter. Sprinkle cinnamon sugar mixture on top.

Slice dough into 6 vertical strips.  Stack the 6 strips on top of each other and slice into 6 strips again to make 36 total strips.  Layer the strips in the prepared loaf pan.  Cover and let rise in a warm place until almost doubled in size, 30-45 minutes.

Meanwhile, preheat the oven to 350°F.

Bake for 30-35 minutes until golden brown.  Run knife around the edges of pan.  Invert onto a plate and flip back over.  Serve warm.

Thanks to Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker for hosting!  Make sure to check out all the other entries this month!



14 thoughts on “Cinnamon Sugar Pull Apart Bread: Improv Blog

  1. Amber says:

    Love your cinnamon bread! My nana used to make something very similar to this. I would love to have a few pieces with my lunch right about now… 🙂

  2. Melody says:

    That looks sooooooooo yummy! My sons love it when I make their “monkey bread” with fresh bread dough instead of refrigerator biscuits…

  3. Kristen says:

    This bread has been on my culinary bucket list for so long. You did a great job with it. I wish I could just reach in and grab a huge bite.

  4. Mimi says:

    Your pull apart bread looks delicious. I remember having cinnamon toast for breakfast when i was young, something i didn’t share with my own children.
    Mimi

  5. theninjabaker says:

    Your photo plus your description makes me almost taste the scrumptiousness of your cinnamon sugar pull apart, Karen. I appreciate your definition of lady-like eating etiquette =)

  6. bakingaddict says:

    I saw this on Joy the Baker’s website and bookmarked it but never got round to it. It looks delicious!! I thought the poem was pretty good too 🙂 Sorry I’m late visiting from the Improv party but things have been a bit hectic recently.

Leave a comment