Chorizo Chimichanga

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

For me this recipe is really called taco roll.

I’ve mentioned before that I often eat steel cut oats for lunch since I find them delicious and they help keep me full.  Now that school is back an session and lunch is often squeezed int office hours or eaten during class, I have been eating a lot of oatmeal.  Unfortunately, our building’s communal microwave is out of commission during a remodel, so my oats are often room temp or slightly chilled.  Not my ideal lunch situation.

So, lunch on the weekends really needs to count.  This chorizo chimichanga is inspired by one of my favorite elementary school lunches.

Did you get those monthly hot lunch calendars when you were in elementary school?  For me, it took a little planning at the beginning of each month to decide my best lunch options.  I would often buy lunch when there was pizza or pasta- pretty easy choice.  But I also would have mom pack me a lunch (she often packed a good lunch).  If I wanted to feel sophisticated, I would sign up for the chef salad for lunch (this was often the teacher’s lunch choice- I was basically an adult when I ate that big salad with mountains of toppings.

But there was one lunch that the school served that I always bought.  Taco Roll.  Years later, I learned that this was basically a chimichanga: a deep fried burrito filled with cheddar cheese and ground beef.  And it was delicious.  So I decided to recreate my favorite childhood lunch with a few updates.  I mixed up some chorizo, pepper jack, garlic, and onions.  Stuffed in a burrito and deep fried.

It tasted just like I was eating it off a plastic tray many years ago.

The best lunch I ever ate at school though?  When our middle school first opened, they sold pints of ice cream.  My friends and my lunch of choice then was obviously a pint of chocolate chip cookie dough ice cream.  Lunch of champions right there.

But for a more balanced diet, I guess I can eat this chimichanga for lunch.  And then the ice cream.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

CHORIZO CHIMICHANGA
From Cinnamon Freud

INGREDIENTS

1/2 tablespoon butter
1 onion, thinly sliced
Salt and pepper
1-1 1/2 pound chorizo (or ground beef)
4 cloves garlic, minced
6-8 ounces cheese, shredded
5-8 large flour tortillas
Vegetable oil, for frying

DIRECTIONS

Heat a large saute pan over medium high heat.  Melt butter.  Add onion and season with salt and pepper. Cook until golden brown, about 7-10 minutes.  Stir in chorizo/ground beef.  Cook until cooked through, about 3-5 minutes.  Stir in garlic and cook for an additional 2-4 minutes.  Drain on a paper towel.  Let cool completely.

Fill a pot or pan with 2 inches of vegetable oil.  Heat oil to 375°F.

Warm tortillas in the microwave.  Divide filling between the tortillas.  Top with cheese.  Fold tortillas.  Fold the top/bottom first then the sides.  Use toothpicks to secure the chimichanga closed.

Fry for 1-2 minutes per side, until golden brown.  Drain on paper towel.  Keep warm in a 200°F if needed.

Makes 5-8 chimichangas.

2 thoughts on “Chorizo Chimichanga

Leave a Reply

