Black and White Bars

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I wear a lot of black. And some gray and white. Especially when I am trying to look nice and professional (and hide my true desire to be wearing yoga pants), I always turn to neutrals.

So what do you do when you wear too much black and white? Make desserts to match your outfits obviously. For these bars I took the idea of magic bars, which is basically just pouring sweetened condensed milk on top of sweet toppings, and used my favorite black and white toppings.  And what is one of the best black and white sweets American can offer? My friends, that would be the Oreo. And what is better than just eating an Oreo?  Eating an Oreo with gooey sweet sweetened condensed milk on top.

I think I would eat my first child if they were covered in sweetened condensed milk.

But no worries about that as I am currently not a fan of children (to put it nicely), nor are children often covered in sweetened condensed milk.  Children can sleep safely in their beds tonight without fear of me turning in the the witch from Hansel and Gretel.  I will just eat this dessert instead.

I hope I did not scare anyone away with that eating children comment.  I meant it all in good fun.

Is it really not funny to joke about eating children?  Hm.

Stay tuned for the next recipe that takes these bars and makes them into a treat that Lindsay Lohan would love.  Yes, I will leave you with that gem to ponder.

BLACK AND WHITE BARS
From Cinnamon Freud

INGREDIENTS

1 1/3 cup all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
3/4 cup light brown sugar
6 tablespoons butter, cut in 1 inch cubes
3/4 cup milk chocolate chips
3/4 cup white chocolate chips
1 1/2 cups chopped Oreos
14 ounces sweetened condensed milk

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350°F. Line a 9×9 baking pan with foil and grease.

In a food processor combine flour, salt, and brown sugar.  Pulse until combined.  Sprinkle cold butter cubes on top.  Pulse until pea sized crumbs form.  Press evenly into prepared baking pan.

Sprinkle white chocolate chips and milk chocolate chips on top.  Sprinkle chopped Oreos and top.  Lightly press down.  Pour sweetened condensed milk on top, tilting the pan to ensure the sweetened condensed milk fully covers the pan.  Bake for 19-23 minutes, until golden brown on top.

Cool completely and cut into bars.  Store in refrigerator

6 thoughts on “Black and White Bars

  1. Pingback: Oreo Cookie Bars

Leave a comment