Sushi in a Bowl

There are certain foods that I only crave once in a blue moon, but when that craving hits, I have to have it and I have to have it NOW.  Sushi falls under this category.  I am by no means a connoisseur of sushi- I basically enjoy the California roll, or if I feel a little crazy, I may have the Philly roll with cream cheese instead of avocado.  The most daring I’ve ever gotten is eating unidentified sushi at our a Chinese buffet our family has frequented for years, and I’m pretty sure I was just eating chicken a lot of the time (or maybe that’s what my mind wants me to think).
Anywho, when I crave sushi, I turn to the basic rolls they have made at the grocery store.  Nothing special but as always, slightly overpriced.  I wanted to try making sushi at home (but then I realized it would take too much time and involve having to buy a bamboo mat).  So, enter the ingenious idea of a sushi salad.  I was skeptical at first if this could really satisfy a sushi craving, but as I took my first bite, I announced “This tastes like sushi!”
This salad is easy to prepare and a perfect quick and cheap fix to any sushi craving.  Customize it to your sushi preferences, I have written the recipe as I make it.
SUSHI IN A BOWL
INGREDIENTS
For the Salad:
4 cups brown rice, refrigerated
2 cups crab, chopped
4 carrots, julienned
1 cup edamame beans
Seaweed, for topping
For the Sweet Chili Sauce:
1/4 cup Greek yogurt
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1-1 1/2 tablespoons sweet chili sauce
Sriracha sauce, to taste
DIRECTIONS
In a large bowl, combine brown rice, crab, carrots, edamame, and seaweed.  Toss.
In a small bowl combine Greek yogurt, mayonnaise, sweet chili suace, and sriracha.  Pour over salad.  Toss to mix.  Serve cold or at room temperature.
Serves 4.

Leave a comment