Corn Cakes with Goat Cheese


Usually sometime over the weekend I make a master plan for my dinners for the upcoming week.  This way I can shop ahead of time, and I can easily cook after coming home from work.  When planning, I tend to focus on the main dish, and the side dishes often get ignored.  Then while cooking I am left scrounging for a side dish that works with the main dish, uses ingredients I have on hand, and tastes delicious.  Not always easy. Because of this, I have had some odd combinations of food for dinner, such substituting pineapple for rice or eating a cupcake in place of a vegetable.  

Now I love my odd combination of dishes for dinner because I know it’s only during these young years that my digestion system can handle by crazy combinations  without a need for alkaseltzer afterward, but I also love a well planned side dish.  When I remember to plan ahead, I get to eat a great side dish like these corn cakes.  These corn cakes are easy to make, and most of the prep work can be done ahead of time. Then, you can make you main dish and heat these up at the end.  It is easy to time everything to be hot and ready to eat at the same time.

CORN CAKES WITH GOAT CHEESE

Adapted from Martha Stewart

INGREDIENTS

1 ear corn kernels
1 summer squash, diced
Olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons cornmeal
1 tablespoon mayonnaise
Herbed goat cheese

DIRECTIONS

In a large skillet over medium heat, cook corn and squash with a little olive oil for 4-6 minutes.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Remove from heat and let cool.

In a small bowl, combine corn, squash, egg, cornmeal, and mayonnaise.  Form in patties.

Heat large skillet over medium heat.  Coat pan with a little olive oil.  Cook patties for 4 minutes.  Flip, and cook an additional 3 minutes.  Top with crumbed goat cheese.

One thought on “Corn Cakes with Goat Cheese

Leave a comment