Egg Curry with Lentils

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eggs really are a wonderful food.

I love to cook eggs many ways: scrambled, over easy, poached, and hard boiled to name a few. While I love a good runny yolk when I make eggs over easy or poached, when I am scrambling or hard boiled I love them well done. ย I like to cook my eggs to death, and I love them that way. I like my scrambled eggs as dry as the dessert even though it is a serious violation of the foodie laws (which formally decree henceforth that scrambled eggs should be soft and runny- Ugh, nope).

Same for my hard boiled eggs- no soft boiled eggs for me here. I have loved hard boiled eggs since first trying them in my mom’s Spam salad (no shame). When I was younger, I used to eat around the yolks, just some salt on the hard boiled egg whites for me, but now I appreciate the richness of a good yolk.

This egg dish is a great dish for people who are looking to continue to eat healthy in the new year. The spicy curry and deep complex flavor of spices works really well with a creamy hard boiled egg.

EGG CURRY WITH LENTILS
From Cinnamon Freud

INGREDIENTS

4 eggs
2-3 teaspoons olive oil
1/2 onion, thinly sliced
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tablespoon ground cumin
1/2 tablespoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon turmeric
1 teaspoon salt, to taste
1-3 teaspoons curry powder, to taste
1 cup dried green lentils
2 1/2 cup vegetables stock
3-4 cups grape tomatoes, chopped
Extra vegetables, as desired*
2 tablespoons Greek yogurt
Juice of one lemon
Cilantro, for topping

DIRECTIONS

Place eggs in a large saucepan. Cover with water. Bring to a boil over high heat. Cover withย lid and remove from heat. Let eggs sit in water for 20 minutes (or however long you normally do based on personal preferences). Let cool slightly, peel, and slice. Set aside.

In a saucepan, heat olive oil over medium high heat. Add onions and cook until softened and translucent, 6-8 minutes. Add garlic and cook until golden brown and fragrant, about 1-2 minutes. Add cumin, paprika, turmeric, salt, and curry power. Toast 2-3 minutes until fragrant. Stir in lentils,vegetable stock, and tomatoes.

Bring to a boil and reduce to simmer. Cook until the vegetable stock is mostly evaporated. Stir in any additional vegetables and cook*. Stir in Greek yogurt and place hard boiled eggs on top. Spoon any remaining sauce on top of the eggs and cook for 3-5 minutes. Serve with freshly squeezed lemon juice and cilantro on top.

Serves 3-4

*I used cauliflower, which I like with more bite, so I added with the tomato and vegetable stock. ย You can also add other vegetables when you are cooking the onions before you add the garlic (adjust olive oil as needed when adding more vegetables)

Leave a Reply

