Pork Potstickers

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well I have been on a bit of an Asian kick for these past few posts with Baked Crab Rangoon and Congee (perfectly and unintentionaly right on time for Chinese New Year this Friday!).  And today we are going to talk about potstickers.

All these Asian dishes are amazing and easy to make.  And that is exactly what I need right now.  My schedule this semester starts about 2 hours earlier most days, and I am just getting too tired during the day.  I’m straddling that awkward time period of a college student who wants to sleep until noon and an adult who gets up early.  I want to stay up late at night to facebook stalk and mindlessly look at tumblr but I also feel like I am wasting my day when I sleep in too much on the weekends.  Exhausting.

But when I come home weary and tired (sometimes sitting in a chair all day is just exhausting), these potstickers are a great way to give my spirits a small boost.  When I eat potstickers, I taste home.  Mom used to make potstickers for dinner often (it was something all of us actually liked).  She would slave away at the stove and make batches after batches of potstickers, which my dad, sister, and I would promptly devour.  Eventually our bellies would fill, and mom would wrap up her batches and finally get to eat herself.  Sorry, mom, we were just too hungry and loved potstickers too much.

These potstickers are really a quick dinner- the main work is just in the prep of sealing the dumplings.  My sister who is a newbie at cooking and dislikes a lot of work can easily make potstickers and will be probably making them a lot when she moves into her first apartment.   These potstickers are also a great meal to freeze ahead.  If you completely make the potstickers and then freeze them, just let them thaw in your fridge and reheat.  Boom.  Instant delicious meal with little work.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

PORK POTSTICKERS
From my Mom

INGREDIENTS

30-40 wonton wrappers
1 pound ground pork
1 1/2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 teaspoons sesame oil
1 bunch green onions, chopped
Cooking spray, for coating pan*
Water, for steaming

DIRECTIONS

In a large bowl, mix together ground prok, soy sauce, sesame oil, and green onions.

Lay out wonton wrappers in a single layer. Place about 1 heaping teaspoon of the pork filling in the center of each wonton wrapper. Dipping your finger in water, trace the outline around the edges of the wonton wrappers. Seal shut. Repeat with all wontons.

Heat a large pan over medium high heat. Coat pan with oil. Place wonton wrappers in batches in a single layer on the pan. Brown on both sides, about 1-2 minutes per side. Fill pan with enough water that the wonton’s are almost halfway covered. Cover with lid. Let cook until water cooks off, about 5-7 minutes. Use a spatula to unstick the potstickers from the pan (they are sticking to the pot– get it?!)  Repeat with remaining wontons.

Makes about 40 potstickers, serves 3-4.

*I find that cooking spray or using a misto is easier to coat the pan rather than just using straight oil

Leave a Reply

