Baked Crab Rangoon: Secret Recipe Club

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Three.  Day.  Weekend. !!!

Three day weekends are the best.  It’s even better when you keep forgetting that you have an extra day off, and then you get to remember: “hey, I don’t have to go to work on Monday!”.  And boy, did I need today off.  The semester is back in full swing, but I am experiencing a little lag getting back into the groove of things.

Now that I am back to being busy with work and after about a month of lots of baking and cooking during the holidays, I was ready for some easy, quick recipes.  When I was assigned Sara’s blog Cook with Sara for this month’s Secret Recipe Club, my recipe requirements were that it was somewhat healthy and that it was easy to make.

This baked crab rangoon fit my requirements perfectly.  The fried crab & cheese puffs were always one of my favorites when we ordered Chinese takeout as a kid.  But now that I had that chance to make them myself I did two things: baked them instead of frying them (because messing with oil is too much work sometimes) and added lots of crab.

BAKED CRAB RANGOON
Adapted from Cook with Sara

INGREDIENTS

20 wonton wrappers
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
1-2 tablespoons Greek yogurt
3 scallions, chopped
1 garlic clove, minced
1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
3/4 teaspoon soy sauce
Sriracha sauce, optional
3/4 cup crab meat
Oil, for brushing

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 425°F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a bowl, mix together cream cheese, Greek yogurt, scallions, garlic, Worcestershire, soy sauce, and sriracha sauce (to taste). Fold in crab meat.

Place wontons on prepared baking sheet in a single layer. Place a small spoonful on filling on each wonton. To seal the wontons, brush a wet finger along two edges of the wonton wrapper and pinch closed. Brush folded wontons with oil (or use nonstick cooking spray). Bake for 9-12 minutes, until golden brown. Serve with additional scallions and with sweet chili dipping sauce.

Make sure to check out what everyone else made this month!

14 thoughts on “Baked Crab Rangoon: Secret Recipe Club

  1. Joyti says:

    Those look like a great appetizer, and waaay nicer than the take-out version!

    p.s. I’m a first-time visitor to your site, and I just wanted to say that I adore your blog title. It’s so perfect!

  2. teaandscones says:

    I bet these were delicious. I love those but never think to make them myself. And baked instead of fried is perfect.

Leave a Reply

