Pecan Pie Muffins

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

There has been some important legislation happening around these parts within this past year. In early April, Texas finally voted to decide on the state pie.  I wholeheartedly agree with this piece of legislation.  And that is about how political I will get.

As a concerned citizen, I have been at a loss as to what pie I should look toward to represent our state of Texas. I am happy to put my disquiet at ease and now look toward the pecan pie. A wonderful choice.

In order to be a politically aware citizen, I feel it is my duty to incorporate more pecan pie desserts into my diet. I have made several variations of pecan pies, but I have yet to find the one. It is my duty, nay pleasure, to keep searching for the best pecan pie. So far, the top contender is from Goode Co. Barbeque in Houston.

Although not a traditional pecan pie, these muffins are also high on my list. These pecan muffins combine all the glorious tastes of pecan pie in a neater, easier muffin form. They are moist (don’t you love that word?), buttery, and chock full of pecans.  Perfect for a holiday cocktail party- or a great holiday shopping snack.

And since these have the word muffin in the title, they are 100% appropriate for breakfast.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

PECAN PIE MUFFINS
Slightly Adapted from The Girl Who Ate Everything

INGREDIENTS

2/3 cup butter, softened
2 eggs, room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup light brown sugar
1/2 cup all purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 cups chopped pecans

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease two muffin pans.

In a large bowl, whisk together butter and egg. Add vanilla extract brown sugar and whisk until a gooey liquid forms. Add flour, salt, and pecans. Stir until just mixed. Fill muffin tins a little less than halfway. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until golden brown. Run a sharp knife around the edges. Let cool for 5-10 minutes and remove muffins from pan. Store in airtight container.

Makes 16-20 pecan pie muffins.

4 thoughts on “Pecan Pie Muffins

  1. Candy says:

    I made these two days ago and oh my gosh, we couldn’t stop eating them. They are absolutely wonderful!! Thank you, thank you for such a wonderful recipe.

Leave a Reply

