Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies: Secret Recipe Club

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Well everyone, I have done it now.

I have baked with pumpkin.

And it was not bad at all.  I am no longer a pumpkin virgin, and being true to myself, I took that pumpkin and made dessert.  Making dessert is always the best choice.  My friends and I had a fall cooking night a few weeks ago- we roasted lots of veggies for puff pastry, made a fall salad, and make a pumpkin dessert.  We chose to make some pumpkin donut holes rolled in sugar, were were amaze-balls (ha).  So my first pumpkin experience was a great one.

So after stuffing myself full of pumpkin donut holes, I found myself with some leftover pumpkin in my fridge.  And then Secret Recipe Club came along, providing the perfect opportunity to find another delicious dessert to use pumpkin in.  This month I was assigned Lynne’s blog 365 Days of Baking & More.

Searching frantically for a dessert recipe where I could use pumpkin, I came across a recipe for pumpkin cookies with candy corn M&Ms, and I was ready to go.  I made a few adaptions to the cookie recipe, subbing in chocolate chips for the M&Ms (although I love those candy corn M&MS- I am currently hoarding a few bags in my closet right now), and made sure those cookies were soft and chewy.  So delicious.  I may now be a pumpkin convert.

PUMPKIN CHOCOLATE CHIP COOKIES
Adapted from 365 Days of Baking & More

INGREDIENTS

3/4 cup butter, room temperature
3/4 cup light brown sugar
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1 cup pumpkin puree
2 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
1 cup chocolate chips

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 375°F. Grease a baking sheet.

In a large bowl, cream butter, light brown sugar, and sugar together until light and fluffy. Stir in vanilla extract and pumpkin. Stir in flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and nutmeg until just combined. Fold in chocolate chips.

Place rounded tablespoon fulls dough on prepared baking sheet, pressing down to flatten. Bake for 10-13 minutes, until the edges are slightly golden brown. Repeat with remaining dough

Makes approximately 2 dozen cookies.

Make sure to check out what everyone else made this month!

 

11 thoughts on “Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies: Secret Recipe Club

Leave a Reply

