Cranberry Cinnamon Sugar Candied Walnuts

7-3 Cranberry Cinnamon Sugar Walnuts

During the day, I am not much of a snacker.  I tend to stick to my main meals- although you will often find me with a Diet Coke by my side.  I know it’s not the best thing to pump into my body, but I am addicted. Just hook me up to a Diet Coke IV please.

However, the sun goes down (and I can’t drink Diet Coke anymore or else I will be awake all night), and my stomach starts to grumble.  I am a night snacker- I look forward to the unwinding from my day with a sweet snack, and I often will snack and scroll through food blogs.  I have my snack staples: ice cream sandwiches, leftover holiday candy (I just found a bag of Halloween M&Ms in my closet, hurrah for being a hoarder), and pudding.  But I was ready to mix it up.

So for this month’s Secret Recipe Club, I decided to look for a new snack to try.  I was assigned Desiree’s blog, Steak n Potatoes Kinda Girl.  And upon hearing her website, I just wanted a big juicy steak.  But I had a mission: snacks.  I had a great time looking through her great array of recipes, and when I saw her recipe for Salted Candied Pecans I knew I had found a new great snack.

I made a few changes: walnuts instead of pecans because that is what I had in my pantry, and I added craisins because adding craisins is always a good decision.  And these nuts did not disappoint.  Crunchy nuts, chewy craisins, and sweetness. Perfect for late night web surfing and also a great road trip snack!

Also goes great with Diet Coke.  But what doesn’t?

CRANBERRY CINNAMON SUGAR CANDIED WALNUTS
Adapted from Steak n Potatoes Kinda Girl

INGREDIENTS

1 cup walnuts
1/2 cup granulated sugar
3 tablespoons water
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/3 cup craisins

DIRECTIONS

In a saucepan over medium heat, combine walnuts, sugar, and water.  As the sugar begins to liquefy (3-5 minutes), begin stirring.  Cook, stirring constantly, until sugar thickens and crystalizes, about 4-7 minutes.

Decrease heat to medium low.  Continue to cook until sugar begins to harden and turn brown.  Stir in salt, cinnamon, vanilla extract, and craisins.  Stir to evenly coat nuts. Pour into single layer on a baking sheet and let cool completely.  Store in an airtight container.

Make sure to check out what everyone else made this month!

13 thoughts on “Cranberry Cinnamon Sugar Candied Walnuts

Leave a Reply

