Artisan Boule Bread

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Wait! Don’t click away from this page because you think making homemade bread is too much work, too complicated, or too likely to fail.  I promise I can hook you with two words:

No kneading.

After reading this recipe and seeing that the word “knead” was no where to be seen, I knew I had to make this bread.  I am not a kneader by nature.  I get frustrated with kneading. Flour gets into every single possible kitchen crevice and all over my clothes because for some reason I thought it’d be a good idea to wear my new black shirt to make bread and oh my gahhh has it been 10 minutes yet or is the dough elastic enough I want to stop kneading my arms hurt. Welcome to my head.

There is a tradeoff for the no kneading with time.  The dough needs to sit over night.  So yes, it takes some time but no real work on your part.  All you do is proof some yeast (just add hot water!), pour some flour and salt.  Stir. Cover.  Sit on your counter. Bake. And viola: bread.  

But to sound fancy let us call it artisan boule bread.  Oh la la.

This would be a great bread recipe to make if you have never tried to make homemade bread before.  Or if you need a confidence booster after having several unsuccessful attempts.  I have about a 50/50 success rate with bread in general, but this bread has given me the confidence to try more homemade bread!

And complain more about how much work it is to knead.

ARTISAN BOULE BREAD
From The Comfort of Cooking

INGREDIENTS

3 cups all purpose flour
1 tablespoon kosher salt
1/2 teaspoon dry yeast
1 1/2 cups water, 110°F

DIRECTIONS

In a bowl stir together all purpose flour, salt, and yeast.  Stir in water with a wooden spoon until mixture forms a wet dough.  Cover bowl tightly with plastic wrap and let sit for 8-24 hours.  The dough will bubble as it sits.

Preheat oven to 450°F.  Place Dutch oven in preheated oven for 30 minutes.

Place dough on a lightly floured surface. Form dough into a ball, adding more flour as needed. Cover dough with plastic wrap and let it rest while the Dutch oven heats in the oven. Place dough on a piece of parchment paper.  Transfer dough into the preheated Dutch oven.

Cover and bake for 30 minutes.  Remove lid and bake for 10-18 minutes uncovered. Let bread cool slightly before slicing.

Makes 1 loaf of bread.

Leave a Reply

