Raspberry Filled White Chocolate Almond Bars

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This week I have off from classes, and for the first time in a while I don’t really have anything pressing to do.  And I do not know what to do with myself. Besides listen to this song nonstop.

My name is Karen, and I can no longer do nothing.

I used to be able to just literally sit on the couch or at the computer all day long and do nothing.  Well, not nothing.  I had a very important TV schedule I followed.  Since our study didn’t have cable my line up was based on the standard channels as follows: Arthur (yes, the aardvark…), People’s Court, Judge Mathis, Judge Hatchet, All my Children, One Life to Live, General Hospital, and Maury.

I would love to say I have become more cultured and sophisticated in the years since, but I can still get sucked in by a good Real Housewives of wherever marathon.  I know I shouldn’t complain about this slow week and that a few months from now I will be longing for some nothing-ness.  Until then I will have to try and find some fun stuff to do this week.

Luckily for the second half of this week I don’t have to worry about doing nothing since I will blowing out of this one-horse town on a Texas roadtrip! I am excited to explore some cities, spend time with a friend, eat good food, and watch some fireworks.  From a good distance since I have a healthy respect/fear of explosions.

I really am revealing a lot of neurosis today.  Can’t do nothing, have a fear of fireworks. Hello.  For the sake of full disclosure, I also have an irrational fear of butterflies.

Anyway.  These raspberry almond white chocolate bars would be an amazing treat to bring to any BBQ celebrations. This recipe comes from my mom, and I knew whenever she made these for a holiday celebration, we were in for a treat.  Raspberry, white chocolate, and almonds are a threesome I can fully get behind.

No blue, but you got the red and white covered- just sit them next to a big bowl of blueberries or something.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

RASPBERRY FILLED WHITE CHOCOLATE BARS
Adapted from My Mom

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup butter
12 ounces white chocolate chips, divided
2 eggs, room temperature
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1 teaspoon almond extract
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 cup all purpose flour
3/4-1 cup raspberry jam
1/3 cup sliced almonds, toasted

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 325°F. Grease a 9 inch baking pan.

In a small saucepan, melt butter. Add 6 ounces (about 1 cup) of the white chocolate chips. Do not stir and let stand for at least 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, in a large bowl beat eggs until foamy. Slowly add sugar, beating until mixture is lemon colored. Stir in white chocolate chip and butter mixture. Add almond extract, salt, and flour. Mix until just combined. Pour approximately 1/2-3/4 of the mixture into the pan. Bake for 15-17 minutes.

In a small saucepan warm raspberry jam until easily pourable, about 2-3 minutes. Pour on top of warm crust. Spoon teaspoonfuls of remaining batter on top of jam with some jam still showing through. Sprinkle almonds on top. Bake for 25-27 minutes. Cool completely and cut into bars.

3 thoughts on “Raspberry Filled White Chocolate Almond Bars

  1. Joanne says:

    I can only stand doing nothing for a very short period of time…then I go a bit stir crazy! So I totally get it. Keep busy and have fun on your road trip! These bars sound amazing. Raspberry and white chocolate are such a great combo!

  2. Mark says:

    Hmm, lepidopterophobia. Good thing you weren’t in Galveston or Surfside last weekend. There were flocks of them.

Leave a Reply

