Sausage Sandwich with Cranberries, Sriracha Mustard Aioli, and Cheddar

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This sandwich name is a doozie.

And yes, I am a 20-something-year-old who just said doozie (or is it doozy?).

I had a difficult time naming this sandwich.  The amazing topping combo was inspired by a sandwich I ate in Austin last summer named the Jackalope based on their house made sausage.  But I did not have access to my own homemade sausage nor the ability to make my own sausage, thus the longest name for a grilled sausage sandwich came to be in which I list every ingredient I can.

And yes, these toppings sound like a crazy combo, but by now, you should be used to that around here.  I love my crazy foodie combinations, and since Lubbock is somewhat lacking when it comes to the big city foodie scene, I had to take matters into my own hands and make city-food in my own kitchen.

I promise I do not put cranberries on everything I eat.  Only when it tastes delicious.  

This sandwich comes at the perfect time for everyone: since it’s summer, this is a perfect meal to grill and eat outside at the pool, beach, or park.  Just assemble your eclectic toppings before hand, heat outside with a beer in hand, grill it up, and eat it up. I am picturing a foodie sausage sandwich party with toppings galore in my future…

SAUSAGE SANDWICH WITH CRANBERRIES, SRIRACAHA MUSTARD AOLI, AND CHEDDAR
Inspired by Frank’s Jackalope

INGREDIENTS

4 links sausage, preferably smoked
1/4 cup mayonnaise
1-4 teaspoons Sriracha sauce, to taste
1/4 cup mustard
2-3 teaspoons prepared horseradish
1/2-2/3 cup cranberry sauce
1/4 cup shredded cheddar cheese
4 hotdog buns

DIRECTIONS

Cook sausage according to package instructions (smoked sausage usually does not need to be precooked).  Prepare grill.

In a bowl combine mayonnaise, Sriracaha sauce, mustard, and horseradish.*  Chill for at least 20 minutes to allow flavors to meld.

Grill sausages, about 3-5 minutes per side, until charred.  Brush hot dog buns with melted butter and grill cut side down for 3-4 minutes.  Brush buns with mayonnaise mixture.  Place sausages on top.  Spoon cranberry sauce on top.  Sprinkle with cheddar cheese.  Place back on grill with lid closed for 3-5 minutes until cheese is melted.

Makes 4 sandwiches.

*These ingredients don’t have to be combined into one sauce but can instead be put on individually for each sandwich if you are serving people who don’t like all the flavors.

2 thoughts on “Sausage Sandwich with Cranberries, Sriracha Mustard Aioli, and Cheddar

Leave a Reply

