Eggplant Veggie Burger

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Some days while I am in the kitchen, I am just doomed for disaster.

The day I made this veggie burger the fire alarm went off, a bag of sugar fell over and spilled in my cabinet, and  an almost full bag of chocolate chips fell all over the floor.  Apparently bad things do come in threes.

When those chocolate chips fell all over my kitchen floor, I am pretty sure my neighbor just heard me repeat “Oh my god.  Oh my god” for about five minutes as I stood in my kitchen with my hands over my face.  Serenity now!

After I cleaned up several of my messes and frantically fanned my fire alarm with a towel while standing on a shaky chair, I got to sit down and take a bit of this veggie burger.  The only good part of that evening was that this veggie burger turned out to be DELICIOUS.  I have had a few veggie burgers, mostly legume based, but had never made my own before.  I know we have all had our share of bad veggie burgers, but this is not one of them.  I saw this veggie burger on The Best Thing I’ve Ever Eaten, and I was intrigued with its eggplant and cheese base.   To Google I went, and this veggie burger recipe I found!

This burger is meaty (without any actual meat), cheesy, herby, and wonderful.  While I am still not over the best beef burger I ever ate, I really enjoyed this veggie option. It is no replacement for a thick, juicy burger, but it is a wonderful alternative for any vegetarian or anyone who just loves eggplant.

EGGPLANT VEGGIE BURGER
Adapted from the Farm Cafe

INGREDIENTS

For the Burger:
2 eggplants, 1/2 inch pieces
1 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper
2 shallots, chopped
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 3/4 cup panko breadcrumbs
1 cup grated Gruyere cheese
3 tablespoons chopped fresh parsley

For Toppings:
4 ciabatta rolls, cut
Caramelized onions
Whole grain mustard
Goat cheese

INGREDIENTS

Put eggplant in a large skillet over medium. Cook until beginning to soften, about 5-7 minutes. Stir in olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Cook until mostly softened, 15-19 minutes. Stir in shallots and garlic. Season against with salt and pepper if needed. Cook for an additional 3-4 minutes.

Reserve 1/4 of the eggplant mixture. Take the other 3/4 of the mixture and transfer to a food processor. Process until smooth. In a large bowl, combined the pureed eggplant, the reserved chunky eggplant mixture, panko breadcrumbs, Gruyere cheese, and parsley. Stir together. Using your hands, press into 4-5 patties. Place patties on a plate and freeze for 15 minutes to let patties set.

Heat a skillet over medium-high heat. Grease pan with oil or butter. Fry patties to get a brown crust, about 2-4 minutes per side (depending on burger thickness). Place on ciabatta bun and top with caramelized onions, whole grain mustard, and goat cheese.

Makes 4-5 veggie burgers.

3 thoughts on “Eggplant Veggie Burger

  1. Joanne says:

    I definitely have afternoons like that where everythign seems to go wrong…but at least these burgers turned out oh so right! I’ll definitely be trying them!

Leave a Reply

