Mussels in White Wine Sauce

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I have missed being near water and having access to fresh seafood.   The closest open water in town is an artificial lake outside the city’s mall that is probably about 50% water and 50% trash.  While I do see people fishing there, I think I will be sticking to the local grocery store for my seafood needs.

Even at our local grocery store the seafood selection is more limited than what I am used to, so when I was home for vacation, I knew I needed some seafood in my diet ASAP.

I first had mussels at a Chinese all-you-can eat buffet. Yes, let’s let that fact sink in. Our family’s tried and true childhood favorite restaurant was the Chinese buffet Cafe East, which had approximately 33% Asian food, and 65% miscellaneous American food. and 1% all you can eat soft serve ice cream,  And 90% of all food was deep fried.  It was childhood heaven.

Having mussels there was probably a risky option, but I was young and carefree. And they were covered with lots of melted cheese, so really the choice was a no-brainer for me.

These mussels aren’t covered in cheese, but I promise they are delicious. They are buttery, tender, and salty perfection. They are also an incredibly quick dinner- cook some onions, simmer a little broth, and steam the mussels for 5 minutes. My suggestion is to serve this up French style: moules et frites, mussels and fries. Or with a big loaf of crusty bread.

Local Chinese buffets better watch out.

MUSSELS IN WHITE WINE SAUCE
From Cinnamon Freud

INGREDIENTS

2 pounds mussels, debearded and cleaned*
1 1/2 tablespoons butter
1 large shallot, sliced
1 onion, sliced
5 cloves garlic, minced
1/3 cup heavy cream
1/2 cup white wine
Parsley, chopped

DIRECTIONS

Sort through mussels and discard any that have already opened.

Heat a large skillet over medium heat. Add butter, shallots, and onion. Cook until just tender, about 4-5 minutes. Add garlic and cook until fragrant, 1-2 minutes. Add heavy cream and white wine. Bring to a boil and cook until thickened, about 7-10 minutes.

Add mussels and cover pan with a lid. Steam for 5 minutes, until mussels have opened Serve mussels in a bowl with a little bit of sauce. Serve with garlic bread.

Serves 2-3.

*I bought mine already debearded and cleaned- just ask your seafood guy/gal.

7 thoughts on “Mussels in White Wine Sauce

    • cinnamonfreud says:

      I have never tried it with frozen mussels since we don’t even have those here, but I think it would also work. You may have to adjust how you cook them based on how instructed on the package, but I think it would still work!

Leave a Reply

