Beef Sandwich with Whole Grain Mustard and Cranberries

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

So we all froze several bags of cranberries at the end of the winter holiday season, right? No? Just me? I am the only who is crazy enough about cranberries to fill a good portion of my freezer in order to have cranberries throughout the year?

I understand and accept that.

I also accept that I may be one of the few who love cranberries on sandwiches- and this is not limited to the glorious leftover Thanksgiving sandwich you eat until the beginning of December.  And it’s not just limited to turkey sandwiches either. I love cranberries on all types of sandwiches.

If you are  feeling a little adventurous one day and you see cranberry sauce at the grocery store, you may feel the urge to spread some cranberries on a roll and top it with some juicy beef, and I completely support this.

It will be wonderful, but I have a warning when you are putting this sandwich together.

I always have the urge to add more and more toppings on my sandwiches and end up with a huge sandwich that can barley fit in my mouth.  But with this sandwich especially, restraint is important. We are using some toppings with strong flavor.

Take this from me: use a light hand. When I spread way too much whole grain mustard on my first sandwich, my mouth was on fire. Who knew mustard could be spicy? Remember, less can be more. Except when it comes to the cranberries: more is more. In fact, I ate some cranberries on the side with this sandwich.

And just FYI, some grocery stores sell frozen cranberries that you can stock up on. And fresh cranberries will be back in stores in about 5 months. Just saying.

Join me in my happy, cranberry-filed world.

BEEF SANDWICH WITH WHOLE GRAIN MUSTARD AND CRANBERRIES
Adapted Slightly from Bon Appetit

INGREDIENTS

2 cups cranberries
1 cup water
3/4-1 cup granulated sugar
1-2 tablespoons butter
4 6-8 ounces steak*
Salt and pepper
2 tablespoons whole grain mustard
1/4 cup mayonnaise
Red onion, thinly sliced
4-5 ciabatta rolls

DIRECTIONS

In a saucepan, bring water and sugar to a boil. Add cranberries and cook until the cranberries pop and most of the water is absorbed. Cool slightly and set aside.

Season steaks with salt and pepper. Let sit at room temperature for at least 15 minutes.

Heat a large skillet over high heat. Melt butter. Cook two steaks (do not overcrowd the pan) for 4-5 minutes (for medium). Flip once and cook and additional 4-5 minutes. Repeat again with remaining two steaks. Let rest for 5-10 minutes. Slice against the grain.

Warm ciabatta bread. Stir together mustard and mayonnaise Spread lightly on bread (the mustard can be potent) Spread cranberries on bread. Top with steak slices.

Makes 4-5 sandwiches.

*Use any cut of steak you like/can afford. I used a New York Strip this time because it was on sale and came in a decent sized portion.

One thought on “Beef Sandwich with Whole Grain Mustard and Cranberries

  1. alanna says:

    That sandwich looks amazing. I love the idea of cranberry in sandwiches, I admit this is something I do after the holidays with the left over turkey and then forget about how great it was the rest of the year. I have seen bags of frozen cranberries around- thank you for reminding me of their goodness!

Leave a Reply

