Peanut Butter Cookies Dough Bites

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I am not a vegan, and I don’t make many vegan recipes. This is for several important reasons:
1) Vegan food supplements are expensive, and I am poor.
2) Sometimes vegan recipes taste a little…off.
3) I like cheese.

I once tried to make some vegan brownie bites to bring to a party since someone there couldn’t eat gluten. The raw brownie dough included dates for sweetness and chewiness So off I went to one of the town’s few speciality grocery stores for dates. Given my frugality/poorness, I saw two types of dates at the store. One was a few dollars cheaper and looked pretty similar to the dates listed in the recipe, so I figured a date is a date, right? No. My vegan brownie bites came together, and everything looked all right. However, when I took my first bite to test them out, they were a little weird. I took a second bite and confirmed that, yes, they were weird tasting. I couldn’t serve weird brownie bites to people- imagine the food blogger shame! So to the trash bin they went, and I ate the rest of the dates plain (they were pretty good, kind of tasted like licorice).

Lesson learned: buy the ingredients you are told to for a vegan recipe.

I have been seriously missing my Reeses Easter eggs, so I needed a peanut butter based snack to help me slowly detox myself. These peanut butter cookie dough bites are the healthy replacement I chose to make. They happen to be vegan but include no weird or foreign ingredients. You shouldn’t have any grocery mishaps or frugality decisions with these peanut butter bites. In fact, you may already have all the ingredients already in your pantry.

I cannot lie and say these are exactly like a Reeses peanut butter cup, but they are a delicious and healthy peanut butter snack that can be whipped up in minutes. And no one is stopping you from dipping them in some melted chocolate.

Also why does Memorial Day or Cinqo de Mayo not have any holiday candy? I don’t want to wait until October for novel candy. First world problems, people.

PEANUT BUTTER COOKIE DOUGH BITES
Slightly Adapted from A Pinch of Yum

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup honey roasted peanuts
1/3 cup golden raisins
Pinch of salt
1/3 cup peanut butter
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
2-4 teaspoons water, as needed
2-4 teaspoons flour, as needed

DIRECTIONS

In a food processor, process peanuts until broken into small pieces. Add raisins, salt, peanut butter, and vanilla. Process until a soft dough forms. Add water if need to help the dough come together. Remove dough from processor If too oily, work in a little flour if needed. Divide dough into small ball. Press down into flat disk. Use a fork to create a criss-cross pattern if desired.

Makes 12-15 cookie dough bites.

Leave a Reply

