Tamagoyaki: Secret Recipe Club

I have been having several weeks where I am just craving certain foods.  Last week it was sugar in any form I could get it, which lead to a baking extravaganza.  The past few days it was meat (I am still yearning to go grab a perfect hamburger somewhere) and sushi.  Odd mix, but I don’t question what my stomach tells me.

I have always wanted to make sushi at home, but this past week I was too busy with school and then my mini-vacation back in Houston for spring break (an advantage of still being a student at my age), so I knew real sushi wasn’t in the cards.  When I was browsing My Catholic Kitchen, for the Secret Recipe Club, I came across a recipe for Tamagoyaki, or egg sushi, that caught my interest.  Basically, it is eggs flavored with soy, mirin, sugar, and salt that are cooked and rolled tight like sushi.  I was hooked!

While Veronica’s looked very beautiful and authentic,  I had some sushi rolling problems.  My first attempt was a little sloppy, and my second attempt ended up half on my counter-top due to some overzealous pan swirling.  My third attempt was much more successful, and I think I am getting the hang of the rolling technique.  Even if the rolling doesn’t turn out completely right, the egg sushi is still delicious (as evidenced by the fact that I have eaten this three times).  It’s a little sweet and salty sushi omelette.  I love the different flavor of the eggs, and I am definitely going to have to make these again.  It will help me perfect my rolling technique, right?

Make sure to check out the other reveals today for The Secret Recipe Club!

TAMAGOYAKI
Slightly Adapted from My Catholic Kitchen
INGREDIENTS

2 eggs
2 egg whites
1 tablespoon soy sauce
1 teaspoon granulated sugar
1 teaspoon mirin
Butter, for greasing the pan

DIRECTIONS

In a bowl, combine eggs, egg whites, soy sauce, sugar, mirin, and a pinch of salt.  Stir until combined but do not beat (we want this to be denser than how we typically make eggs).

Grease a small skillet over medium-high heat.  Pour in enough egg mixture to just cover the pan.  Tilt the pan so the egg mixture is evenly spread.  Cook for 2-3 minutes, until golden brown on the bottom.  Fold the top and bottom sides of your egg mixtures in about 1/2 inch.  Starting for the the edge, roll the egg mixture into a tight roll.  Leave in the pan.

Grease the pan again.  Pour in enough egg mixture to just cover the pan and repeat.  This time, fold the cooking egg mixture around your first roll.  Repeat with remaining egg mixture.  Remove from pan and cut into slices.

Serves 1-2.

Here is a helpful video on the rolling technique.

document.write(”);

13 thoughts on “Tamagoyaki: Secret Recipe Club

  1. Veronica Gantley says:

    Wow! you picked a great recipe it was one of the harder ones I have done. It took me foour times to get this one right! I am so glad to be with you on SRC and love the recipe you picked from my site!

  2. Debra Eliotseats says:

    I love Veronica's site. I must have missed this post. I have been craving Asian food lately and although I am not a sushi fan, I think we would love this. Cudos for trying this for SRC. (And, thanks for stopping by EE's.) I love the name of your site!!!

  3. Veronica Miller says:

    You have rung a bell for me, I think I've seen a video of this being prepared or something. In any case it sounds great and even if the first one don't roll right, well that just gives you a nice excuse to "test" the recipe before serving it. 😀

  4. Mathias Bjorkman says:

    If you use 4 eggs, 1 tbsp mirin, 1 tbsp sugar, 1/2 tbsp soy and NO salt it will taste just like pancakes. So the question is, wonder what it would taste like to add 1 tsp of cinnamon to it. I have made these a bit and i have bought a square tamagoyaki pan off of amazon. It does help if you want the sushi look.

Leave a Reply

