Candy Butterscotch Tart with Vanilla Buttercream

Honesty time: I have had a bag of Snickers sitting in my fridge since August.  My parents brought them as a road trip snack when I moved into my apartment and left them here.  I have only worked my way a little way half through the bag.  The existence of said snickers is due in part to the fact that I like to bake my own sweets and in part to the fact that they got buried under a bunch of stuff in my fridge for a while.

Now, I am a notorious candy hoarder.  In fact, I have already started buying Easter peeps to stock up in order to be able to enjoy sugar coated marshmallows until the next holiday season.  I’m basically like a bear or squirrel preparing for hibernation but with candy.  Snickers are all well and good, but frankly, they need to make room for important, limited edition holiday candy.  And soda.  I promise I do eat some vegetables too.

Since I also had some butterscotch chips sitting in my cabinets, I combined these two together in a wonderful chewy blondie.  And then for good measure, I topped it with a vanilla buttercream.  Now I am happy to have a bag of Snickers in my fridge as an excuse to make these blondies again.

CANDY BUTTERSCTOCH TART WITH VANILLA BUTTERCREAM
Blondie Slightly Adapted from Becky Bakes
Buttercream Slightly Adapted from Cook’s Illustrated
INGREDIENTS
For the Butterscotch Tart:
1/2 cup butterscotch chips
1 cup granulated sugar
3 eggs, room temperature
1/2 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cup chopped Snickers (or any candy bar)
For the Vanilla Buttercream:
1 cup & 2 tablespoons butter, softened
2 cups powdered sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 vanilla beans
DIRECTIONS
For the Butterscotch Tart:
Preheat the oven to 350°F.  Grease a 9 inch pie plate or 6-7 4 inch individual tart pans.Place butterscotch chips in a heat-proof bowl.  Bring a pot of water to a gentle simmer.  Place bowl on top and cook until buttersctoch chips have melted, stirring occassionally.  Whisk in granulated sugar, egg, and vanilla extract.  Stir in flour and salt until just combined.  Fold in chopped candy bars.  Pour into prepared pie pans.  Bake for 12-17 minutes, until just cooked through.  Cool completely.

For the Vanilla Buttercream:


In a large bowl, use a hand mixer to mix butter, powdered sugar, vanilla extract together.  Scrape the inside of the vanilla beans and fold into buttercream.  Top blondies with a generous dollop of buttercream.

4 thoughts on “Candy Butterscotch Tart with Vanilla Buttercream

  1. Joanne says:

    I often have leftover snickers around because I buy them for baking and then somehow never use them! These blondies look fabulous…a great use of those leftovers. 😛

  2. Kate | Food Babbles says:

    Holy YUM!!! These sound absolutely amazing! I'll have to run out and buy some Snickers cause I do not have a secret stash. Those NEVER last long in my house 😉 These tarts look like they won't last very long either. Wowza!

Leave a Reply

