Mushroom Stroganoff: Secret Recipe Club

Sometimes I get caught up in a my own foodie world, and I don’t really realize some of the weird food combinations that I eat.  Some of my favorite dishes are just plain weird, and I get that people don’t want to eat like that all the time.  For February’s Secret Recipe Club (and my first month participating, so excited!), I was assigned Julie’s Eats and Treats.  Julie’s blog is chock full of classic favorites and made me realize how much I crave a good old fashion classic.

This mushroom stroganoff is a classic, heart, comfort food that is perfect for any cold, windy day.  I can heartily testify to this as the day I made this, it was a miracle that I made it home and did not blow away to Oklahoma.  It’s really windy here, and I am a weakling.  But coming home to the warm pasta dish made everything all better.

Now, this isn’t the complete classic, as it’s a vegetarian version.  No opposition to meat from me, but I tend to eat mostly meatless during the week.  Mushrooms are a perfect fix for meatiness in a vegetarian meal since they have a meaty texture, but I would not object to some pan seared beef on top of this stroganoff either (or some ground beef like Julie served it).

Make sure to check out Julie’s Eats and Treats and The Secret Recipe Club to see all the other swaps this month!

MUSHROOM STROGANOFF
INGREDIENTS

8 ounces pasta or egg noodles
1- 1 1/2 tablespoon butter, divided
Salt and pepper
2 shallots, thinly sliced
20 ounces cremini mushrooms, sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 tablespoon all purpose flour
1 cup beef broth
2 tablespoons Worcestershire**
1/2 cup sour cream
3-6 ounces Fontina, shredded
1/2- 1 tablespoon prepared horseradish, optional
Chopped parsley

DIRECTIONS

Cook pasta al dente according to directions.  Set aside.

Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat.  Coat pan with 1 tablespoon butter.  Add shallots, season with salt and pepper, and toss.  Cook for 3-4 minutes.  Add mushrooms and remaining buter. Season with salt and pepper and cook for 4-5 minutes, until mushrooms are cooked through and liquid has evaporated.  Add garlic and cook until fragrant, about 1-2 minutes.

Stir in flour and cook for 1-2 minutes. Add beef broth and Worcestershire to pan.  Bring to a boil.  Lower to simmer and cook for 7-10 minutes stirring occasionally, until slightly thickened.  Stir in sour cream and Fontina until melted.  Let cook longer to thicken if needed.  Garnish with parsley if desired.

Serves 3-4.

** If you are a vegetarian, do not use Worcestershire sauce (as it has anchovies in it)

Secret Recipe Club

document.write(”);

13 thoughts on “Mushroom Stroganoff: Secret Recipe Club

  1. Gloria - The Ginger Snap Girl says:

    Hi Karen! Welcome to SRC. 🙂 I had a great time browsing your blog this past month. I really loved the Houston style green salsa. And I have few other recipes I've pinned for later! And I'll be pinning this one too. Your mushroom stroganoff is making me hungry. Sounds delicious!

  2. Deanna - Teaspoon of Spice says:

    Welcome on board – it's my first month of SRC too 🙂 Loved that you picked this dish and loved that you made it vegetarian (I'm not opposed to meat – just don't eat it much.) I haven't had Stroganoff for years – look forward to making this one.

  3. Liz Berg says:

    Welcome to the group!! Lots of new faces this month…love that!!! Your mushroom stroganoff looks amazing. My hubby picks out the mushrooms from what ever I make, but I'd want a double serving!

Leave a Reply

