Brownie Pudding

I know it’s the start of the new year and everyone is starting their diet and resolutions, but I am not there yet.   I am at the tail end of my winter vacation, and while I am at home, I am in a “treat yo self” mode. And as I mentioned before, right now treating myself means chocolate.  A lot of chocolate.  I am still here to tempt you all away from your stalks of celery to this molten chocolate dessert.  If you are still practicing self restraint, good for you!  Feel free to check out my recipe page for some healthy dishes.  Just to remember to bookmark this recipe for a later special occasion.

This brownie pudding calls for an OMG!!! (I don’t OMG lightly either).  You mix up a thick decadent brownie batter then bake it until it just barely baked through. The result is a crisp outer crust and a thick, molten brownie batter underneath.  Serve it with melted vanilla ice cream, and you will be in heaven.

This decadent, delicious recipe comes from none other than Ina Garten, who has never let me down with a recipe.  I like to think of Ina as a close personal friend (she just doesn’t know this yet), and I am now even more connected for her.  For my birthday, my mom got me a signed copy of Ina’s newest cookbook.  She got to meet her in a person when she came to Houston for her book tour, which is officially cooler than when we saw Lyle Lovett in Austin.  Since I have had contact with my mom, I count this as being one step closer to being Ina’s BFF.  Next time Ina just needs to come to town when I am not in school!  Or perhaps she could consider adding Lubbock to her book tour stops.

BROWNIE PUDDING
Slightly Adapted from Ina Garten
INGREDIENTS

1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
4 eggs, room temperature
1 vanilla bean
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 teaspoons water
1/2 cup all purpose flour
Pinch of salt
1/2 cup coca powder
1/4 cup Dutch processed cocoa powder

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 325°F.  Grease 7 inch by 12 inch baking pan.

Melt butter and set aside to cool.  In a large bowl, beat sugar and eggs together for 5-10 minutes, until thick and light yellow.  Beat in the seeds from one vanilla bean, vanilla extract, and water.  Beat in flour, salt, and cocoa powder until just combined.  Beat in cooled melted butter until just combined.

Pour brownie mixture into greased pan.  Place pan in a 9 inch by 13 inch pan.  Fill the larger pan with the hottest tap water halfway.  Bake for 50-60 minutes.  Be careful not to over bake.  The cake is done when a cake tester comes out 3/4 of the way done when placed 2 inches from the border.  Let cool slightly for 3-5 minutes.  Serve immediately with vanilla ice cream.

2 thoughts on “Brownie Pudding

  1. Anonymous says:

    I hope Lyle doesn't follow your blog! You forgot to mention that I also met Ina's lucky assistant who sometimes get to taste test Ina's recipes. Maybe Ina needs a second assistant?Mom

Leave a Reply

