Best of 2012

Well, it’s time for the old cliche you have been hearing from everyone: I can’t believe it’s already 2013, it feels like 2012 just started.

2012 has been a good year for me, in both food and life.  My life has probably changed the most this year than any other year previously.  I have officially moved out on my own to start working on my PhD (although my parents still can’t completely shake me off as I am home for almost a month for the holidays).  I also can’t believe I have kept up this blog for over a year given my propensity for starting many projects and abandoning them.  I really have grown to love cooking more and more, and I can tell my level of confidence and ability has grown. I have begun relying less on recipes and more on my own arsenal of skills and ideas and have begun taking on my elaborate dishes.

Let’s celebrate some good food by taking a look back at some of my favorites this year.

My first recipe ever to get a huge amount of hits of course comes from my mom, who is a whiz in the kitchen herself.  Nothing is ever wrong when you go with potatoes and cheese.
This dip is simple and addictive.  And having a tapenade sounds so fancy.

I don’t think I will be able to wait until next Christmas for these little babies.  They are a perfect salty appetizer.
This year my aunt taught me how to make her Singapore Noodles, and they are so yummy.
Another wacky pizza combination that turned out delicious.  I do love putting pears on pizza.
 
 
When I first made these, I thought they would just be okay. So wrong  they are absolutely delicious, especially after they sit for a few days.  Forget any dry or tasteless scones you may have had before.
If there is a Monte Cristo sandwich on a restaurant menu, there is a 99% chance I am going to order it.  Now I can make one version at home.
 
 
I tried macarons for the first time this year, and I fell head over heels in love.  To me, they are perfect.   And I love them, just the way they are.  An adventure to make and delicious to eat.
I now know the secrets of a perfect New York style cheesecake thanks to Cook’s Illustrated.  Oh my, this is a divine cheesecake.  And really not too hard to make.
I had to include some sort of pie on my list, as it is my favorite type of dessert.  And this combination of blueberries and sweetened sour cream in a sugar cookie crust is one of my favorites.
Leave a Reply

