Roasted Pear and Cabbage Salad

Let’s talk about the best time of the year.  Sure, summer is great because you can get vacation from school (if you’re lucky), and you hit the beaches.   But then you sweat when you go outside- no thank you.  Spring brings pretty flours and fresh produce.  And spring break.  Flowers are overrated.  My favorite time of year is the beginning of fall and the early transition into winter.
I love this time of year.  Starting about mid-October, I begin to get that feeling.  I can’t describe it exactly, but it’s that feeling that comes with the holidays coming up.   I love all the holiday cheer and preparation.  When I walk into Walmart and see Halloween treats in September and Christmas cheer in October, I don’t complain.  Sometimes when I am driving or walking outside, and I see decorations and multicolored leaves, I just feel happy.  I soak it all up, cherishing it while it lasts.  And then the rest of the year I whine about how I wish it was fall or winter.
This salad is a simple way to utilize the produce of the season.  Sweet pear, heart cabbage, creamy cheese, and crunchy nuts.  So simple but so good and much more interesting that your typical salad with lettuce and veggies.  Healthy for you but still has great flavor.  This is a super winter salad right here.  Enjoy this time of year with me and put this on the schedule for lunch or dinner.
ROASTED PEAR AND CABBAGE SALAD
Slightly Adapted from The Sweets Life
INGREDIENTS

1 small head cabbage, sliced
1 tablespoon olive oil
Salt
2 brown pears, chopped
2 tablespoons white balsamic vinegar
1/3-1/2 cup blue cheese crumbles
2 ounces cashews

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 400°F.

Toss cabbage with olive oil.  Spread cabbage and pears on a rimmed baking sheet and season with a pinch of salt.  Roast for 20-25 minutes, turning at least once.  Stir in white balsamic vinegar (transfer to bowl or skillet if baking sheet won’t hold liquid).  Sprinkle with blue cheese crumbles and cashews.

Serves 2-3

Leave a Reply

