Sweet Potato Tacos with Yogurt Sauce

Growing up, mom always served us a balanced meal with a protein, a starch, and a vegetable.  When I first was on my own in college, my meals may have become slightly less balanced.  Grilled cheese and cereal for at least four days a week made me miss mom’s home cooking.  The food at our school cafeteria wasn’t awful, but the meat was often overcooked or undercooked (I once got a plate of bloody rotisserie chicken).  So slowly but surely my meat intake dwindled.  Then when I moved into my apartment and began to cook for myself, I began trying new vegetables and began to crave vegetables and other types of protein rather than meat.  I still love a good steak or piece of pork, but many days I got meatless.
Meatless meals are a great way to save some money and try new flavor combinations.  These tacos mimic fajitas without any meat.  I used to not be a fan of sweet potatoes (until I ate this Struesel Sweet Potato Souffle), but now I love them.  And I especially love eating them around this time of year- gets me excited for Thanksgiving (only 2 months away!!).  These tacos are filling, delicious, and vegetarian.
SWEET POTATO TACOS WITH YOGURT SAUCE
Adapted from The Picky Eater
INGREDIENTS
For the Yogurt Sauce:
1 cup Greek yogurt
3 cloves roasted garlic
1 teaspoon ground cumin
Salt and pepper, to taste
For the Tacos:
1 1/2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
4 sweet potatoes, peeled and chopped
1 onion, thinly sliced
3 carrots, coarsely chopped
2 cups frozen corn
1 tablespoon garlic powder
1 tablespoon chili powder
1/2 tablespoon smoked paprika
Salt and pepper, to taste
8-10 corn tortillas, warmed
DIRECTIONS
For the Yogurt Sauce:
In a bowl, combine Greek yogurt, roasted garlic, and ground cumin.  Stir together and season with salt and pepper to taste.  Chill until ready to use.
For the Tacos:
Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Add 1 tablespoon of olive oil.  Add sweet potatoes and season with salt.  Toss and cover.  Cook for 5-8 minutes, until sweet potatoes are cooked through (time will vary depending on how large or small they are chopped).  Add onion and remaining olive oil.  Cook for 5-6 minutes.  Add carrots and corn.  Cook for 3-4 minutes.  Season with garlic powder, chili powder, and smoked paprika.  Adjust seasoning and season with salt and pepper, to taste.
Divide filling between tortillas and top with yogurt sauce.
Serves 3-4.
One thought on “Sweet Potato Tacos with Yogurt Sauce

Leave a Reply

