Apple Grilled Cheese

Some might say that I take the apple a day adage quite seriously due to the fact that I eat at least one, sometimes two, apple a day.  But alas, it does not keep the doctor away.  Or maybe it’s my hypochondriac tendencies contribute to that…

All self analysis aside, I do know one thing about myself: I love apples.  This is obvious given that I end every dinner with an apple (it’s often my safety net if a new recipe I try fails miserably).  More specifically, I always end dinner with a Pink Lady.  As a self proclaimed apple connoisseur, I have tried all kinds of apples- all colored delicious, Gala, Fugi, Braeburn, Granny Smith, Macintosh, and more- but my favorite is without a doubt the Pink Lady.  It is tart, sweet, and has a strong “apple” taste.  I have been known to go to several grocery stores until I find good quality Pink Ladies. If you have never had a Pink Lady apple, here is the perfect time to try it out.

This is a perfect sandwich for any apple lover.  Apples and cheese may seem like a strange pairing perhaps, but they just work.  While apple and cheddar is often the traditional combination (anyone ever had apple pie with cheddar cheese- I am dying to try the combination myself), many types of cheese pair well with apples.  This time, I used the wonderful, creamy cheese that is brie.  Goat cheese, fontina, or blue cheese would also be interesting combinations for this sandwich.  The brie gets melty and goeey, the apples are slightly cooked but retain a crunch.  And just to make sure you get that apple taste, slather on some apple butter.  It’s apples to the max in this hot sandwich.

APPLE GRILLED CHEESE
Adapted from Heat Oven to 350
INGREDIENTS

4 pieces sourdough bread
2 tablespoons apple butter
1 Pink Lady, cored and sliced
2-3 ounces brie, thinly sliced
1 tablespoon honey
Salt
1 tablespoon butter, divided

DIRECTIONS

Heat a large skillet over medium heat.
On two slices of bread spread the apple butter.  Divide the apples slices between each slice. Season with a pinch of salt.  Layer brie on top.  Drizzle honey on top.  Top with remaining slices of bread.  Spread 1/2 tablespoon of butter on the two top slices of bread on each sandwich.
Place sandwich butter side down in hot skillet.  Cook for 2-3 minutes, until golden brown.  Spread the remaining 1/2 tablespoon butter on top pieces of bread.  Carefully flip sandwiches and cook 2-3 minutes, until golden brown.
Makes 2 sandwiches
Leave a Reply

