Fig and Plum Tarts

Well, I am all moved in to my new place.  After three days of what felt like nonstop lifting and assembling, everything is now in place.  My new kitchen is now ready for chopping, baking, and sautéing.
After moving everything in, my cupboards were pretty bare, so I made my first grocery store trip.  I am happy to report that I love my new grocery store.  My first trip had a little adventure when I dropped/smashed two jars of sweet pickles on the ground.  The con- I cut my fingers.  The pro- my shoes smell like sweet pickles now.
All sweet pickle business aside, my new grocery store had some great finds, especially for produce.  I found some sweet plums and fresh black mission figs.  This tart is a great combination of these fresh summer foods with a good mix of sweet and salty.  I used some of my fresh figs to make fig jam but feel free to use any fig spread you can find.  Quick, go forth and discover some fabulous fruit before the season is over.  Then make a tart.  Or eat a plum with every dinner like I am.  Or both.
FIG AND PLUM TARTS
From Cinnamon Freud
INGREDIENTS
12 sheets phyllo dough
1/4-1/2 cup melted butter, for brushing
3 ounces blue cheese crumbles
1 cup fig jam, recipe below
2-3 plums, sliced
Salt
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1/4 cup chopped hazelnuts
DIRECTIONS
Preheat oven to 400°F.  Line two baking sheets with parchment paper.
On a cutting board lay out a sheet of phyllo dough.  Brush with melted butter.  Layer a second piece of phyllo dough on top.  Repeat with phyllo dough until you have a 6 layer stack of phyllo dough.  Cut into 8 rectangles and carefully transfer to baking sheet.  Repeat with remaining phyllo dough.
Place approximately 1 tablespoon of fig jam on top of the phyllo dough.  Spread slightly with the back of a spoon.  Sprinkle blue cheese crumbles on top.  Place a layer of plum slices on top of each tart.  Sprinkle lightly with salt.  Sprinkle hazelnuts on top.  Bake for 10-15 minutes, until plums are soft and tarts are golden brown.  Drizzle with honey if desired
Makes 16 small tarts.
HOMEMADE FIG JAM
Slightly Adapted from Cooking Light
INGREDIENTS
1 pound figs
1 cup granulated sugar
1 tablespoon water
1 teaspoon lemon zest, optional
DIRECTIONS
Chop your figs very finely or run through a food processor.  In a saucepan combine figs, sugar, water, and lemon zest.  Let sit for 2 hours.
Bring the fig mixture to a boil over medium high heat.  Reduce heat and simmer for 20-25 minutes, until jam reaches desired thickness.  Transfer to a glass container.  Let cool at room temperature and then chill overnight.
Leave a Reply

