Crack Pie

This pie truly lives up to its name. While I cannot vouch for the addictivness of crack or any other form of cocaine, I can tell you this with great certainty: you will not be able to stop at one piece of this pie. Or at least you won’t want to. I usually can exercise self control with desserts (sometimes I choose not to), but when this pie is sitting in the fridge, all my self discipline goes completely out the window. Evidence of this is that in one night, three of us ate at least 2/3 of this pie. And while there were three of us, I definitely made the biggest contribution toward that consumption.

This recipe is based off Milk Bar’s pie of the same name. One of their pies will cost you $40. While that is a ridiculous price tag for a pie, I would seriously consider getting out my checkbook for this pie. But luckily I do not have to when I can whip it up in my own kitchen
I made this pie to celebrate my one year bloggiversary!  I honestly can’t believe I have kept up with this blog.  I like to think that over the past year I’ve imrpoved with my photography, creativity, and writing skills.  Now don’t make me celebrate my  bloggiversary alone, make this pie and join me!

(PS- If you need another recipe to use up the nonfat dry milk powder you bought to make this pie, try this Vanilla Bean Crème Brûleé which is actually low in calories!)

CRACK PIE
INGREDIENTS

For the Cookie Crust:
9 tablespoons butter, softened (divided)
5 1/2 tablespoons light brown sugar, divided
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
1 egg, room temperature
3/4 cup and 2 tablespoons oats
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon baking powder
1/8 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt

For the Filling:
3/4 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tablespoon nonfat dry milk powder
1/4 teaspoon alt
1/2 cup butter, melted and cooled
6 1/2 tablespoons heavy whipping cream
4 egg yolks
1 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350°F.

For the Cookie Crust:

Line a 9×13 baking pan with foil.  Butter the pan.

In a large bowl, combine 6 tablespoons of butter, 4 tablespoons brown sugar, and granulated sugar.  Beat until light and fluffy.  Add egg and beat until light and fluffy.  Stir in oats, baking powder, baking soda, and salt.  Press cookie mixture into pan.  Bake for 18-19 minutes.  Cool completely on a wire wrack.

In a large bowl, crumble the cooled cookie.  Add 3 tablespoons butter and 1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar. Work evenly through mixture with hands until moistened.  Butter a 9 inch pie pan.  Press cookie crust evenly in pan.

For the Filling:

In a large bowl, whisk together granulated sugar, brown sugar, dry milk powder, and salt.  Whisk in melted butter, then heavy cream, then egg yolks, then vanilla.  Pour filling into crust.

Bake for 30 minutes.  Reduce oven temperature to 325°F and bake for an additional 25-35 minutes. The pie  is finished when the center only jiggles slightly (if the color in the center is still significantly lighter than the outside, the pie is not done yet). Cool pie for 2 hours on wire rack. Chill overnight, preferably for 24 hours at least.

4 thoughts on “Crack Pie

Leave a Reply

