Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Barbeque Sauce

So, apparently I like sweet potatoes now.

Or maybe I have really liked them all along and just didn’t know it?  My mom has never been a fan of sweet potatoes, so when we ate the once a year at Thanksgiving, I always steered clear of them since she made it clear they were not her favorite.  Then last Thanksgiving, I made a sweet potato souffle that is a borderline dessert.  And I loved it.  Not sure if I really loved the sweet potatoes or the streusel topping, I still wasn’t convinced.  Then at Half Thanksgiving I tried a few sweet potato fries and enjoyed them.  I was still convinced I was content with eating sweet potatoes only once or twice a year.

But then I couldn’t get sweet potatoes off my mind.  I began to crave the slightly sweet an fluffy taste.  So, I made sweet potato fries baked in the oven to get the final verdict on sweet potatoes, and I paired it with my new favorite barbeque sauce.  Pure success, and I now am a sweet potato eater. Time to look up some different sweet potato recipes…

BAKED SWEET POTATO FRIES WITH BARBEQUE SAUCE
From Cinnamon Freud
INGREDIENTS

For the Barbeque Sauce:
1/4 cup tomato sauce
1/4 cup ketchup
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1/2 teaspoon ground cumin
1/4 teaspoon smoked paprika
1 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoon lemon juice
Freshly ground black pepper, to taste
For the Sweet Potato Fries:
2 sweet potatoes, peeled
1 1/2- 2 tablespoons olive oil
2-3 tablespoons brown sugar
Salt
DIRECTIONS
For the Barbeque Sauce:
Combine tomato sauce, ketchup, brown sugar, garlic power, cumin, paprika, vinegar, and lemon juice in a small saucepan.  Over medium heat, bring to a boil.  Lower the heat and simmer for 10-12 minutes, until it reaches desired thickness.  Add ground black pepper to taste.
For the Sweet Potato Fries:
Preheat the oven to 475°F.  Preheat a pizza stone in the oven

Slice sweet potato into 1/8-1/4 inch slices.  Put in large mixing bowl and cover with warm water.  Let stand for 45 minutes- 1 hour.  Drain sweet potatoes and pat dry.  In a large bowl, combine sweet potatoes, olive oil, brown sugar, and salt to taste.  Spread fries over a piece of parchment paper in a single layer.  Transfer parchment paper to preheated pizza stone.  Bake for 20-23 minutes.  Watch the fries carefully to ensure that they don’t burn, baking time will vary based on how thick the fries are cut.
Serve with barbeque sauce.  Serves 2-3.
2 thoughts on “Baked Sweet Potato Fries with Barbeque Sauce

Leave a Reply

