Späetzle with Caramelized Onions

I’ve celebrated my Polish ancestory with several dishes.  This was unfair to my other ancestors, so I decided that it was time to explore my German roots.  I sat down and tried to think of traditional dishes from Germany and actually came up with very little besides German chocolate cake, bratwurst, and beer.  A little research (knowledge is power!), and I decided I would attempt to make homemade späetzle.
Späetzle is an egg noodle, just a little dough-ier. With no idea how it was supposed to really look like or taste like, I looked over a few recipes and forged ahead.  Now, a picture is worth a thousand words, but I am not sure exactly what my picture of this späetzle is saying.  “I am not appetizing to look at” I think is what it is trying to tell us.  But don’t be afraid, I really liked the texture.  It’s like a really hearty pasta, very similar to gnocchi.  And it’s really easy to make (no need to buy a späetzle maker either!)

Also, some investigation into our heritage has newly revealed we are also Swedish, so I think it may be time to work some lignonberry recipes into my dinner plans…

SPÄTZLE WITH CARAMELIZED ONIONS
From Cinnamon Freud, Inspired by All Recipes
INGREDIENTS
For the Caramelized Onions:
1 medium onion, sliced
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
Salt and pepper
2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
For the Spätzle:
1 egg, lightly beaten
2 tablespoons milk
1/2 cup all purpose flour
1/8 teaspoon white pepper
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon black pepper
DIRECTIONS
For the Caramelized Onions:</di

v>

Heat a medium pan over medium heat.  Add butter, olive oil, and onions.  Toss to coat.  Season with salt and pepper.  Let cook over low to medium heat for 30 minutes, until onions are tender and golden brown.  Add balsamic vinegar and let cook for another 10 minutes.  Keep warm.
For the Spätzle:
Bring a medium pot of salted water to a boil.
 
In a bowl, whisk egg, milk, flour, white pepper, salt, and black pepper together.  To make the 
späetzle  use a cheese grater or strainer.  Place or hold strainer/grater over boiling water.  Pour batter into strainer/grated and press with the back of the spoon to force through.  Allow batter to drop into boiling water in small pieces.  Let cook for 2-3 minutes, until they float to the top.  Remove with a slotted spoon.  Repeat with remaining batter.  Toss späetzle into pan with caramelized onions.  Serve with sausage, if desired.
Serves 2.
Leave a Reply

