Sour Cream Blueberry Pie

When it comes to food, I am a dessert girl.  My sweet tooth knows no bounds.  And when it comes to desserts, I am a pie girl all the way.  I love pies- a flaky, butter crust with a sweet filling is like a little slice of heaven for me.

At first, I doubted this recipe.  Sour cream and blueberries in a pie?  Then, I thought it’d be okay.  Then as I was mixing up the filling, I knew it would be good.  Then, as I was baking the pie, I knew it would be excellent.  As I waited for the pie to cool, I knew this would be one of the best pies I’d had.

And it was.

Do not doubt this pie recipe.  It’s sooooo (that is 6 Os there) good, and it’s not like any other pie I have had before.  It’s creamy, sweet, and delicious.  The recipe has a pecan crumble topping, but I honestly think the pie would be better without it.  Their recipe for pie crust was good but not great, so my search for the best pie crust continues.

SOUR CREAM BLUEBERRY PIE
Slightly Adapted from Bon Appetit Desserts
INGREDIENTS

1 pie crust
1 cup sour cream
1/2 cup granulated sugar
2 1/2 tablespoons all purpose flour
1 egg, lightly beaten
1/2 teaspoon almond extract
3/4 teaspoon salt
2 3/4 cup fresh blueberries

DIRECTIONS
Partially bake your pie crust according to your recipe instructions (typically about 20 minutes).Preheat oven to 400°F.

In a large bowl, whisk sour cream, sugar, flour, egg, almond extract, and salt together until well mixed.  Fold in blueberries.  Pour filling into warm pie crust.  Bake until filling is just set, 30-35 minutes.  The filling should jiggle slightly and be set on the sides.  Cool to room temperature.
Leave a Reply

