Shrimp Salad

Everyone knows tuna salad, but have you met its cousin shrimp salad?

I’m sure someone has thought up the idea of replacing tuna with shrimp before me, but I thought of this one night when I needed to use up ingredients sitting in my fridge.  I think’s it is a genius idea.

I like tuna but only eat it when a strange craving overcomes me.  The last time such a craving came over me was 4 years ago when I was a freshman living in the dorms.  At first, the freedom of getting to eat out every night at the dining halls and being able to eat as myself into a nutrition wasteland was great.  But slowly the novelty of college dining wore off, and I began to crave homemade food the dining halls didn’t have.  One day I got the idea of a tuna salad on crackers in my mind.  I had to have it then and there (even though I never ate tuna salad).  Luckily my friend had a communal kitchen in her dorm, so we made a big trip to the grocery store (a whole ordeal back then), bought eggs, tuna, crackers, and mayo.  We made tuna salad and ate it all up in one sitting.  And then we never used the kitchen again.

Luckily now I have my own kitchen and can make this shrimp salad whenever I want.  Mayo is one of life’s simple pleasures (you know you love it too), and it is combined with Dijon mustard and smashed egg yolks to coat shrimp and crunchy vegetables.  I like this shrimp salad on crackers, toast, sandwiches, or eaten straight from the bowl.  Serve warm or cold based on your preference (mine being warm).

SHRIMP SALAD
From Cinnamon Freud
INGREDIENTS

6 ounces cooked shrimp, chopped
2 eggs
4 small/medium pickles, chopped
1/2 cucumber, seeded and chopped
2 tablespoons mayo
1 tablespoon Dijon mustard
Dill, salt, and pepper to taste

DIRECTIONS
Place eggs in a medium saucepan.  Cover with water.  Cover with lid and bring to a boil over medium heat.  Once boiling, turn off the stove.  Let eggs sit in water with lid on for 20 minutes.  Drain and cover with cold water.  Peel over egg shell.  Coarsely chop egg white and egg yolk.
With paper towels, squeeze water out of cucumbers and shrimp as needed.  You do not need to drain the pickles because pickle juice will add flavor.  In a large bowl, combine shrimp, hard boiled eggs, pickles, cucumber, mayo, and Dijon mustard.  Season with dill, salt, and pepper to taste.  Refrigerate for at least 30 minutes to allow flavors to meld.  Serve chilled, at room temperature, or warmed.
Serves 2-4.
Leave a Reply

