Sesame Noodles

I want vegetables, and I want them noooow! (Is this too obscure of a reference to a cash money commercial?  The one where a bunch of people want their paychecks and want them now? No one else watches TV as much as I do and remembers this commercial?)

It’s a rare occasion when I crave, nay need vegetables.  But when I do, these noodles fit the bill.  I came across this recipe, and it sounded perfect.  It was full of vegetables, easy to make, and I already had everything in my pantry to make it.  Well, I was right, and I did love this dish.  But I should have known I would have liked this because I pretty much have made this dish before.  And I even blogged about it.  What does it mean when a 22-year-old is already losing her memory?  I am just going to pretend it’s because I cook a lot of new recipes all the time so they all get confused in my brain, and it’s not because I am already losing any cognitive abilities.

Don’t forget about this recipe like I did. Make it and give it the memory storage space that it deserves.  It can work as a vegetarian main dish or a side dish.

SESAME NOODLES
Slightly Adapted from Branny Boils Over
INGREDIENTS

8 ounces thin spaghetti (or soba noodles)
1/4 cup soy sauce
1/4 cup rice wine vinegar
4 teaspoons sesame oil
4 scallions, chopped
6-8 carrots, chopped
1 1/2 cup peas
Cashews, optional

DIRECTIONS

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil.  Cook noodles according to instructions.  Drain and put back in pot.  Add soy sauce, rice wine vinegar, sesame oil, scallions, carrots, and peas to pot.  Toss and serve.  Top with walnuts if desired

Serves 4 as a main dish, 6-8 as a side dish.

Leave a Reply

