Soft Gingersnaps

If I my family were to be classified by desserts, they would, without a doubt, be a cookie family.  (But alas, I am a pie person- a black sheep in my family).  Christmas time is their time of year: all cookies all the time.  Now, my sister Allison is not only a cookie person but more specifically a chocolate chip cookie person.  Many of my recipes are foods she won’t come near (but I swear she would love if she sometimes tried new things!), so whenever she asks me to make something other than her go-to stand by meals, I am ready to go.  So when she came home one afternoon and mentioned that I could make some gingersnaps if I wanted, away I went, and gingersnaps were made and ready that night.


Cookies are an easy to throw together and a perfect hand held dessert you can grab and eat on the go.  These cookies are full of those holiday flavors of ginger and molasses and smell so Christmas-y when they bake.

GINGERSNAPS

Slightly Adapted from All Recipes
INGREDIENTS

3/4 cup butter, softened
1 cup granulated sugar
1 egg, room temperature
1 tablespoon water
1/4 cup molasses
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon fresh grated ginger
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup granulated sugar, for rolling

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 350°F.

Cream together butter and sugar.  Beat in egg.  Combine water and molasses in a small bowl.  Stir into butter mixture.  Sift in flour, ginger, cinnamon, cloves, baking soda, and salt.  Mix until combined.  Roll into 3/4 inch balls and roll in granulated sugar.  Place on ungreased baking sheet and flatten slightly.  Bake for 9-11 minutes.  (Bake longer if you want crisper cookie) Cool for 5-7 minutes on the baking sheet, then transfer to a wire rack to finish cooling.  Store in airtight container.

Makes approximately 36 cookies.

Leave a Reply

