Gingerbread


December is my favorite time of year, and I am ready to get in the holiday spirit.  However, there is this pesky thing known as finals standing in my way between holly jolliness and hall decking.  Until I am free from my last semester of college (a just felt my stomach drop typing those words- yikes), I will have to bake up some holiday treats to tide me over.

Gingerbread is a holiday classic, and I decided to try my first attempt at baking it.  I wasn’t sure how it was going to turn out, but this recipe came out soft, moist, and full of flavor.  I found I liked eating this room temperature rather than warm, and I experimented with toppings, trying whipped cream, cinnamon whipped cream, and powdered sugar.  I decided I liked it with powdered sugar best, but there is no wrong choice here.

GINGERBREAD
Slightly Adapted from Cooking Light

INGREDIENTS

1/4 cup butter, softened
1/3 cup granulated sugar
1/3 cup molasses
1 egg, room temperature
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon grated fresh ginger
1/4 teaspoon grated fresh nutmeg
1/8 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
1/8 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/2 teaspoons baking soda
2/3 cup milk
Powdered sugar and cinnamon whipped cream, for topping

INGREDIENTS

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar together. Beat in molasses and egg.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, ginger, nutmeg, salt, cloves, cinnamon, and baking soda. Add flour mixture alternatively with milk, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Spray a 8 inch baking dish with cooking spray. Pour gingerbread mixture into baking dish. Bake for 23-28 minutes, until toothpick in center comes out clean. Cool on wire rack. Cut into slices and serve with powdered sugar or cinnamon whipped cream.

One thought on “Gingerbread

  1. Paul Grabowski says:

    I have used this recipe three times. Every time delicious. On Christmas Eve, I used this to make gingerbread men. Paul G

Leave a Reply

