Balsamic Cranberry Apple Sauce

Thanksgiving crept up on me this year.  Last week, I was elbow deep in graduate application materials, and this week I am elbow deep in gravy, cranberries, and turkey.  Now, I am not complaining about this change-  I love Thanksgiving.  Good food, good people, and good fun all round.

Since I’ve never made a turkey before or hosted a Thanksgiving, I am lacking some recipes to share with you all, but I do have this recipe for cranberry apple sauce that would go great over turkey (or pork or chicken).  This year I will help my mom cook Thanksgiving dinner, and I will take more of the reigns than I have in past years.  So I am a co-host?  Right, Mom? Hm?

Here are some other Thanksgiving recipes and some recipes to use up your leftovers:
Thanksiladas 
Cranberry Sauce
No Turkey Required Stuffing
Open Face Turkey Sandwich
Herbed Meatballs with Cranberry Sauce

BALSAMIC CRANBERRY APPLE SAUCE
INGREDIENTS

1 cup cranberries
1 cup water
2 tablespoons granulated sugar
Olive oil
2 shallots, minced
3 cloves garlic, minced
3/4 cup chicken broth
1/4 cup balsamic vinegar
1 small apple, chopped
1 teaspoon herbes de Provence

DIRECTIONS

In a saucepan, combine water and sugar.  Bring to a boil over medium heat.  Add cranberries and let simmer for 10-15 minutes, until thickened.  Remove from heat and cool to room temperature.  Refrigerate until used.

In a medium saucepan, cook shallots in a little olive oil for 5-7 minutes, until softened.  Add garlic and cook an additional 1-2 minutes, until fragrant.  Add chicken broth to deglaze the pan.  Add balsamic vinegar, cooled cranberry sauce, and apple.  Bring to a boil and let cook 10-15 minutes, until thickened.  Add herbes de Provence.

Serve over turkey, chicken, or pork.

Leave a Reply

