Whipped Cream

When I was a kid and we had Redi Whip in our fridge, I would always try to sneak into the kitchen to spray some directly into my mouth without my parents knowing (this was extremely forbidden).  I’d tip toe downstairs into a dark kitchen, quietly open the door, and pop the cap off.  Then I would squirt the whipped cream into my mouth. Inevitably, someone would hear the pressure from the can, and I would laugh and flee back upstairs before my diet choices could be judged.
Well, all these years later not much has changed.  I still love to eat whipped cream directly from the bottle, but now that I have my own apartment, I don’t have to hide it.  I can stand out on my balcony for the world to see and eat my whipped cream.  Because, if anything, I am an adult!
Now, I still love Redi Whip and Cool Whip, but there is nothing like homemade whipped cream.  And it’s really easy with only two ingredients and quick (especially if you have a hand mixer).  And yes, I did eat this whipped cream straight from this bowl.  

HOMEMADE WHIPPED CREAM
From Cinnamon Freud

INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup heavy cream
2 tablespoons powdered sugar

DIRECTIONS

In a medium bowl, beat heavy cream until soft peaks begin to form.  This takes 1-2 minutes with a hand mixer or 4-5 minutes by hand.  Be careful when beating cream not to spill over the sides of the bowl. Start on a lowest speed and increase to highest speed to ensure you don’t spill the cream.

Add powdered sugar.  Beat until peaks stiffen (it will look like whipped cream basically!), about 1-2 minutes.  Be careful not to overbeat.

Serve on pie, sundaes, or eat straight with a spoon.

Makes about 1 cup whipped cream.

Leave a Reply

