Houston Style Green Salsa

Houston apparently is a foodie city (according to something my mom read, so we know it is true).  It is home to a vast array of cuisines from Greek to Polish to Korean.  But Houston’s best cuisine: Tex-Mex.

There is nothing like good Mexican food here in Texas.  It’s cheese laden, oil heavy, and salty.  And all Mexican restaurants start you off with free chips and salsa.  Where can you go bad?  One of my favorite local Houston restaurants is such because of their green salsa.  You can only imagine my heartbreak when I went there last month and our waitress told us they had replaced their perfect green salsa with a new red salsa.  Made from red peppers.  For those people who want something low calorie and diet friendly.

This sauce was not good (even disliked by people who like peppers).  I went through the five stages of grief during that dinner:

1. Denial- Maybe they just make you pay for the salsa but it’s still on the menu.  Maybe this is just a mistake, get the waitress!  Waitress! WAITRESS!
2. Anger- How dare they take it off the menu, this is a personal insult! Why, God, why!?
3. Bargaining- I will pay money- no I will give you my younger sister as free labor- for the green salsa.  I will do whatever you want!
4. Depression- I’ll never truly enjoy Mexican food again.  Or life.
5. Acceptance- I am going to find a recipe and make this myself.

Luckily, I came across this recipe.  I dared not get my hopes up too high in case it wasn’t as good, but it turned out just like the restaurant’s.  I am elated and have a reason to get up every morning again.

HOUSTON STYLE GREEN SALSA
INGREDIENTS

4 tomatillos
1/2 onion, minced
1-2 jalapenos, deseeded and minced
5 cloves garlic, minced
2 avocados
1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
1/4 cup cilantro, chopped
Salt and pepper, to taste

DIRECTIONS

Remove husks from tomatillos.  Bring a medium saucepan of water to a boil.  Boil tomatillos for 5 minutes, until softened.  Drain and set aside.

Heat a skillet over medium heat.  Add onion and jalapeno and cook 4-5 minutes, until softened.  Add garlic and cook an additional 1-2 minutes, until fragrant.

In a blender, combine tomatillos, onion, jalapeno, and garlic.  Cut avocados in half and remove the pit.  Scoop out avocado and add to blender.  Blend until combined.  Add cilantro and salt to taste.  Chill and serve with tortilla chips.

One thought on “Houston Style Green Salsa

Leave a Reply

