Herbed Meatballs with Cranberry Sauce


For you poor lost souls who don’t like Thanksgiving food, I am sorry.  I have probably already chased you off with my Cranberry Sauce, or my Thanksiladas, or my No Turkey Required Stuffing, or my Open Face Turkey sandwich. You are missing out.

I absolutely love the taste of Thanksgiving flavors.  I was having a stressful night earlier this week, so I decided I need a nice, autumn dinner.  I would cheer myself up with Thanksgiving food.  So, I opened my cinnamon apple air freshener and got to work.  These meatballs are an easy dinner for during the week.  They would be great served with mashed potatoes or stuffing if you have the time.

HERBED MEATBALLS WITH CRANBERRY SAUCE
Adapted from Pink Parsley
INGREDIENTS

For the Cranberry Sauce:
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup water
2 cups frozen or fresh cranberries

For the Herbed Meatballs:
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 onion, chopped
1 stalk celery, chopped
10 mushrooms, chopped
16 ounces ground turkey
2 teaspoons oregano
2 teaspoon parsley
2 teaspoons garlic powder
1 teaspoon poultry seasoning
1/4 cup bread crumbs

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 425°F.

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine sugar and water.  Bring to a boil and add cranberries. Cook for about 15-25 minutes, stirring occasionally, until cranberries begin to open and sauce thickens.  Remove from heat and transfer to serving bowl.  Cool to room temperature.  Chill until ready to eat.

Heat a large skillet over medium heat.  Melt butter.  Add onions and celery and cook 5-7 minutes, until softened.  Add mushrooms and continue to cook 5-7 minutes until vegetables are softened.  Remove from heat.

In a large bowl, combine onion, celery, mushrooms, ground turkey, oregano, parsley, garlic powder, poultry seasoning, and bread crumbs.  Mix together.  Form approximately 20 small meatballs and place on baking sheet.  Bake meatballs for 10-15 minutes.  Serve with chilled cranberry sauce.

Serves 4-5.

Leave a Reply

