Chicken and Broccoli

Whenever we used to order Chinese take out when I was younger, there was always one dish and one dish only for me: beef and broccoli.  That dish was my dish, and I never varied.  I would always eat around the pesky broccoli and focus on the meat.  If I ate the broccoli, how would I possibly have room for egg rolls?

I have since expanded my Asian culinary tastes and like a lot more types of dishes.  So beef and broccoli took a sabbatical from my diet.  One day I was really missing my old Chinese take out beef and broccoli, and I realized it’d probably be pretty easy to make at home. And I actually eat broccoli now, so I could eat the whole dish.  What an adult I am.

This recipe was quick, delicious, and healthy- a triple threat.  If you don’t make Asian food a lot, this recipe does use ingredients you may not have in your pantry already, but buy them because then you can make all sorts of Asian dishes for dinner!  Make sure to also invest in some frozen egg rolls to have on hand.

CHICKEN AND BROCCOLI
Adapted from Annie’s Eats
INGREDIENTS

1 pound chicken breast, cut into pieces
11/2 tablespoon sesame oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 teaspoon Chinese five spice powder
4 cups broccoli florets
2 tablespoons chicken broth
4 tablespoons soy sauce
4 teaspoons oyster sauce
2 tablespoons Hoison sauce
6 scallions, chopped

DIRECTIONS

Heat 1 tablespoon sesame oil in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add chicken breast and cook until just done, about 6-8 minutes. Remove from heat and set aside.

In the same skillet, add 1/2 tablespoon sesame oil, garlic, and five spice powder.  Cook for 1-2 minutes.  Add broccoli florets.  Add chicken broth and cook for 2-3 minutes.

In a small bowl, whisk oyster and Hoison sauce together.  Add to skillet.  Add soy sauce.  Stir and let cook 3-4 minutes, until slightly thickened.  Add scallions.  Add chicken back to pan and toss to coat.

Serve over rice or noodles.  Serves 4.

Leave a Reply

