Blue Hawaiian Pizza: Take Two

My loyal readers (AKA my mom) is probably wondering why I am posting this pizza again.  Well, here’s the story: I love the blue Hawaiian pizza combination so much that I have eaten it for several times since I first made it.  I had my mind set on having it for dinner again tonight, daydreaming about it during my gender & society class.  But then I got home and discovered that I had no ricotta cheese.  Dun, dun, dun.

My heart was set on this pizza, but driving anywhere from 5:00-6:00 here means sitting in traffic for too long (and causes me road rage). Not worth it for ricotta cheese. So I ad libbed and whipped up a ricotta substitute.  This time I also tried it with a thinner crust, which I think lets the flavors be even bolder.  And it actually turned out better than my first version.

And that is how we find us here with another recipe for Blue Hawaiian Pizza.  I think this one has a creamier taste, but it doesn’t come together as quickly as my previous recipe.  Neither is a bad choice though, folks.  Get out your blueberry preserves and make these!  Here is the original recipe.

BLUE HAWAIIAN PIZZA, PART II
From Cinnamon Freud
INGREDIENTS

For the Pizza Dough:
1 package active yeast
2/3 cup water, 110°F
1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
1/4 teaspoon sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt

For the Toppings:
1 cup skim milk
1/4 cup all purpose flour
4 ounces blue cheese
Canadian bacon, chopped
Pineapple, chopped
Blueberry preserves

DIRECTIONS

Preheat oven to 475°F.

Dissolve yeast in water. Let sit 10 minutes, until foamy. In a medium bowl combine flour, sugar, and salt. Add yeast mixture to flour mixture. Stir with a wooden spoon until soft dough forms. Knead dough on floured surface for about 5 minutes.  Let rise 30-40 minutes in a warm place, uncovered.

Meanwhile,  in a small saucepan, whisk flour and 1/4 cup of milk together.  Over medium heat, whisk in remaining 3/4 cup milk.  Bring to a boil.  Stir often and let cook 1-2 minutes, until thickened.  Stir in blue cheese until melted.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Remove from heat and set aside.

Spray a baking sheet with nonstick spray or prepare a pizza stone.  Roll pizza dough to desired thickness.

Spread cooled blue cheese sauce on pizza dough.  Top with desired amounts of Canadian bacon and pineapple.  Bake for 10-15 minutes until crust is golden brown.  Top pizza with dollops of blueberry preserves.

Serves 2-3.

Leave a Reply

