Spaghetti al Limone

So here it is again: The Day in Which I Can’t Cook Dinner, AKA Thursday, AKA the day I work at my lab late.

I make my dinner in advance on Wednesday night around 10 o’clock, so I need something fast and flavorful that can be reheated the next day.  Pasta has not let me down yet these past few weeks.  This dish has simple, classic flavors that mix wonderfully together. And it’s made all in one pot, so minimal  clean up is needed (a huge plus for any recipe since my sinks fills up with pots and pans so fast it seems like it’s never empty).

On a side note, can you tell how much I love red onions? I tend to add them to everything I can. You should too.

SPAGHETTI AL LIMONE
Adapted from Cooks Like a Champion, Originally Cook’s Illustrated
INGREDIENTS

6 ounces spaghetti
1-2 tablespoons olive oil
1 red onion, sliced
2 teaspoons lemon zest
3 tablespoons lemon juice
1 1/2 ounces Asiago cheese
6 tablespoons half and half
Salt and pepper, to taste
Basil, chopped

DIRECTIONS

In a large pot, bring salted water to a boil.  Cook spaghetti until al dente.  Reserve 3/4 cup pasta water.  Drain pasta and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In same pot, cook red onion in a little olive oil until softened, about 3-4 minutes. Whisk in reserved pasta water and half and half.  Bring to a simmer. Let cook for 2-3 minutes.  Remove from heat.  Add pasta and toss.  Add olive oil, lemon zest, lemon juice, Asiago cheese, salt, and pepper. Cover with lid and let stand about two minutes.  Stir.

Transfer pasta to a baking dish. Bake for 10-15 minutes, until top is golden brown.  Garnish with additional Asiago cheese, olive oil, and basil.

Serves 3.

One thought on “Spaghetti al Limone

Leave a Reply

