Soy & Ginger Salmon


Salmon- it is everywhere, and everyone seems to love it.  I had never tried it before and figured it was a good step to start trying new foods. (This is in fact my goal in my yoga class and part of my grade, so eating this counts as doing homework.  If only all homework was eating, then I would be an academic forever.)

Now, I have some gripes to get out of the way before I talk about the recipe.  I know salmon is more expensive than other meats, so I planned ahead and bought the smallest portion the grocery store had.  Then, the next day it went on sale for half the price. Insert angry internet face here. Alanis Morisette needs to add this event to her song. My second complaint is about the grocery store’s deception.  The filet was packaged flesh up and skin side down, making me believe they had already skinned it.  They hadn’t.  This led to me watching YouTube videos on how to remove fish scales, which led to my nearly cutting my fingertips off.  It was not a good start to this fish.

Unfortunately, for me it didn’t get much better. The salmon…eh.  I do not think salmon is for me.  Or really, I am not a huge fish fan in general.  For me, fish has to be served with something that has a different texture with it.  But the marinade was great- sweet and salty.  For anyone who loves salmon, this recipe is a good one.  Or for anyone who wants to marinate anything else, use this recipe!  
So, salmon, until we meet again.

SOY & GINGER SALMON
Adapted from All Recipes

INGREDIENTS

8 ounces salmon fillet
1 teaspoon garlic powder
8 teaspoons brown sugar, divided
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 teaspoon lemon zest
1 teaspoon olive oil
2 teaspoons ginger root, grated
1/4 cup orange juice
Parsley, for garnish

DIRECTIONS

Cut salmon fillet into two pieces.  Rub salmon with garlic powder and  2 teaspoons brown sugar. 
In a small saucepan combine remaining brown sugar, soy sauce, lemon juice, lemon zest, olive oil, and ginger.  Bring to a simmer.  Stir until all sugar has dissolved.  Remove from heat. Stir in orange juice.

Place fish and marinade in a plastic bag.  Seal and refrigerate for at least 3 hours, up to overnight.
Heat large skillet over medium heat.  Cook salmon, about 3-4 minutes each side.  When fish flakes, it is cooked. Let sit for at least 3 minutes.

In a small saucepan, pour in remaining marinade.  Bring to a boil.  Cook for 5-7 minutes, until thickened. Pour marinade sauce over salmon fillets. Garnish with parsley.

Serves 2.
Leave a Reply

