Balsamic Black Bean Salsa

Did you know salsa is the number one condiment in America?  Because people like to say SAL-SA. (Seinfeld…watch it!)

I have begun to love using balsamic vinegar in both sweet and savory dishes, but I had never thought about adding it to Mexican food.  One weekend I had some seafood enchiladas with balsamic salsa roja out at a restaurant.  That salsa was tangy and delicious- I wanted to see if I could recreate a balsamic salsa at home.

I used what I had on hand, so this can easily adapt to whatever is in your pantry.  I also added some fresh corn because I am determined to each as much fresh corn before the short season is over.  I ate this over chicken for dinner since I had some leftover, but I bet it would also work on tacos, tortilla chips, or taquitos.

BALSAMIC BLACK BEAN SALSA
From Cinnamon Freud
INGREDIENTS

1/2 cup picante sauce
1/4 cup black beans
1/4 cup fresh corn
1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon lime juice
1/2 teaspoon cumin
Ciantro, chopped

DIRECTIONS

In a medium saucepan over medium heat, combine all ingredients.  Bring to a boil.  Cook for 4-7 minutes.  Garnish with cilantro. Refrigerate for at least 2 hours to overnight to let the flavors meld together.  Serve warm or chilled.

Leave a Reply

