Greek Pasta

At the beginning of my school week, I am busy with a normal load of work, but as Friday approaches, even though it seems impossible to do so, I get increasingly busier.  Every Thursday I am out of my apartment from 10 until 9.  This means I have to bring my lunch and dinner with me and carry it all day long. I faced the quandry: what can I eat for dinner that is portable, able to be kept the right temperature, and still delicious?

Like with most of life’s questions, pasta was the answer.  Every Wednesday night, I make my pasta, trying to vary what type of sauce and add ins I use. One night I was just throwing ingredients I had leftover in my fridge to make a sauce and this yummy pasta came to be.  Now, this pasta may need quotations around “Greek”.  While I do use Greek seasonings and Greek yogurt, it’s a recipe created by a Greek newbie who knows very little about Greek food.

So think of me every Thursday night and send positive thoughts as I run participants in research and eat my pasta out of a ziploc container, standing and watching them.  The highlight of my Thursdays.

GREEK PASTA
From Cinnamon Freud
INGREDIENTS

2 ounces thin spaghetti
1 tablespoon butter
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1/4 cup Greek yogurt
1 1/2 teaspoons Greek seasoning
1/2 teaspoon dill

DIRECTIONS

Bring a pot of salted water to a boil.  Cook pasta al dente.  Drain and set aside.

Preheat oven to 350°F.

In a small sauce pan, melt butter over low heat.  Stir garlic powder.  Add lemon juice and Greek yogurt.  Stir until sauce is smooth and remove from heat.  Add Greek seasoning and dill.  Pour sauce over pasta and mix.  Pour into a baking dish and cover with aluminum foil.

Bake covered for 15 minutes.  Remove foil and bake for an additional 10-15 minutes until top pasta is golden brown.

Serves One.

Possible Add Ins: Chicken breast, red onion slices, olives, cucumber, tomatoes, feta cheese

Leave a Reply

